Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

learn... but I forget...
2001-09-27 - 2:59 p.m.

LEARN
"The best thing for being sad," replied Merlyn, beginning to puff and blow, "is to learn something. That is the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honour trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then -- to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting."
-- from "The Once and Future King" by T.H. White

This was part of a newsletter that I get once a month from Powells Books. I don't buy from them hardly at all, but I love the newsletter for it's little quirks and installments of fup. store cat. I know I dislike felines in general, but this is just too cute and funny to pass up. And I only dislike felines since they make me ill, and they are fun to torture. :) Read Fup. love fup.


so, anyway, nothing much terribly interesting has happened since the tornados and dealing with the aftermath. The main thing that has affected me is the traffic for two days sucked big time. They had closed down a major route into campus, so that left all the traffic to come into campus using another route. Let's just say it sucked mightily and leave it at that.

I got four more hoods cut out and serged one night and I got the side gores attached last night after the test drive and hem pinning and wavy stripe marking of QPM's sideless. After I was done she kept it on until she left, so I think she likes it. Just a guess. :) The hoods should get done soon too. I only have to do the quick and painless front and back seams on four and the construction on the first three I cut out. I gave up on making them fitted. As long as they aren't too small, it will be okay. I promise. Of course I had not counted on making a entirely rosie hood, but since Theo is bugging me about it, I might as well. sigh... Also to note, I marked the wavy stripe to match the curves at the top, and it looks good, even with being spread out over the wider skirt. Excellent, Smithers! I'll have to work on the stripe fabric, but that should be no problem.

Of course, I need to maky my own sideless soon, but since I have no wavys, it should be no problem. I guess that is next week, then. I also need to make up notes and examples for my classes at UofA next weekend. Where does all my time go. I was originally hoping to make up the hand sewing examples during the hours I'll be spending in an airport/plane this weekend, but I can't take scissors along. I may try to take my small pair that folds up to the size of a quarter, but even then I'm not hopeful. Maybe I'll just precut and serge all the squares tonight and precut lengths of thread to use, so no scissors will be necessary. I also have my teeth. :( Then again, I may just borrow the book version of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone from Wen and take a break from sewing. We shall see. I still have to pack tonight, but there will be a break for LC and some well needed drinking with friends. thank god.

I wonder if I could bug out of here at 5 since I didn't take a lunch break today. That would free up one more hour which can only be good for me and my sanity.

I still need to do things like take the nail clippers and shaving razor out of my toiletry items so they don't have to confiscate those. Maybe I could pack them and rely on my cuteness to get out of trouble. I mean really, who would think I was a big bad terrorist. What? I could seduce the pilot. yeah, that's likely. I understand the need for heighted security, really I do. But I think now, folks are not going to let someone hijack a plane with nailclippers or embroidery scissors. Now that folks are aware of the stupid things terrorist will do, they ain't gonna stand for shit. Please, can I take my nailclippers and teensy tiny embroidery scissors? No. I didn't think so. I'll use my teeth. Hmm... maybe I could borrow a bone needle from Theo. That would at least make my life easier. Oh Theodora....

So, I have nothing inspiring to say and nothing inspiring is happening in my life other than stress. shocking. sorry for the boring entry, sometimes the stupidity of folks in the world overwhelms me...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next