Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Tragedy for the US
2001-09-11 - 12:13 p.m.

Well, I was gonna write up a lovely account of Coronation, but not anymore.

Tragedy has hit NYC and DC. So far all the SCAdians I know of in the area are okay, but we will know more later.

What a grievious loss of life. What pandamonium. What sadness.

All Federal Government employees have been sent home. Alan should be leaving shortly. The University has been shut down for today and tomorrow. I hope to be leaving soon. I'd like to think that I will be useful at home, but more likely I'll sit in front of the TV, glued.

Say a prayer for all the victims.

I hope this is the end and we are at clean-up now.

Wish I could give blood, but since Tat is less than a year old, I can't. :( Now I feel so selfish.

Oh, and Kim, I'm sorry about your grandfather. I wish I could help. I wish I could give some great advice from my experience in July. I'm glad you got to see him, and make your peace. My hopes and prayers are with you as well.

Update: 7:09 PM

Well, I got home safe, traffic where I needed to go was surprisingly light. While driving home I did notice that no one was blaring music outta the car windows. Everyone was listening intently to a radio news station. Everyone had that tense persed look on their faces the entire 15 minurte drive, myself included. No matter how badly I wanted to finish the last CD of the second Harry Potter book this morning, it was not even considered this afternoon.

I got home around 1pm. I turned on the news, played with some laundry, fed the fish for a few minutes of peace and got eaten by a few mosquitoes. I took a nap and woke up with Theo called me at 2:20pm. Yes, I woke up to answer the phone dreading the worst, glad it was a mostly pleasant update. Talked to the Roland while Theo Im'ed with Gwen. Discussion of the Madness of the day ensued. The TV channels pretty much all show news, whether local, BBC, CBS, CNN, or FOX. kinda scary and yet I don't think I could watch anything else. Alan didn't finally leave work until 3pm, making sure that email was still working since it was a more reliable form of communication than phones. He got paged and went back to work around 5pm to install some software on laptops so that some emergency preparedness dept. could go mobile. He's not home yet, but that's not surprising. He's one of the many out there making sure that the infrastructure is maintained while the rescue workers work, and the grievers grieve. Yay Alan, for having scruples.

You ask what I'm doing at home? I'm reading diaries, checking my mail, listening to the news, bleaching some fabric, munching on snacks, and drinking. That's right, it's a national crisis and since I really can't help, so I'm drinking. yay me.

:(

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next