Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Weekend plans, yikes!
2001-08-29 - 5:31 p.m.

Yeah, baby. So, once again I was mostly productive last night, except for the interrupting phone call from Daddy, more on that later.

I got all the machine sewing done on Alan's green tunic for Coronation, including those insert pain in the ass gores in the center front ad center back. I don't think I did too bad of a job on them either. I hate those things. A little ironing and hand sewing reinforcement and it'll be fine. Tunic is looking pretty sweet. I also pinned the hems of the skirt and cuffs, leaving the neckline for him to try it on and test. I figure if it goes over my big melon, it should fit his small pinhead. But, just the same, I should test it before I finish it. He hasn't been home to try it on.

I also did the cutting out of my apron, serged the edges (which is a good thing considering all the blue silk turds I'd be battling now if I hadn't), and put the body of the apron together. It's ice/baby blue and I got woven trim for the straps in a muted red, cream and purple. Now I just need to decide whether to do the hem and seam embroidery in cream or purple to go with the straps. Decisions, decisions.

Of course Daddy's call interrupted me before I set to work on the apron and since I was trapped on the non-cordless phone, I was not productive during the phone call. But Daddy can interrupt me anytime. I love my daddy! sappy but true. So he called to tell me that he and mom won't be there this weekend when I swing by Hickory to visit the new pipsqueak of a niece, since they will be down in Florida. It looks like they are moving to Florida soon so Dad can be close to Grandma. They are selling the house and moving down to the condo for a while until the log house on the lake in NC is built. It makes sense so they can sell the GSO (Greensboro) house, get the equity in it going towards the log cabin, while living in FL in a condo where the expenses are $60 a month for fees and such. Pretty sweet deal when you think about it. It will mean that my folks will be very far away, (pout) but I can somehow live with that. I just hope my older sister can adjust. She's so used to having Mom a stones throw away and Dad fixes something at their house each holiday, it's become a tradition. It'll be okay.

Of course this also comes to that I need to swing by the GSO house on my way back, drop off my house key, which I still have and pick up a box of my old stuff. Dad said that Mom would have thrown it out, but is leaving that executive decision up to me. Also, I'm trying to find a way to fit some of their furniture in our small house. I really want the wingback chair. I'll need to measure that when I am there and measure one of the big nice sofas. Perhaps I can convince Alan to give the old blue sleeper sofa to Bob and Laura's house in the country and make room for a nice leather sofa and wingback chair. hmmm... Well, they'd just have to pay to store it anyways, I'd be doing my parents a favor. really... Daddy mostly agreed, although was a bit skeptical about fitting much of the furniture in our little house. I'll have to talk to Alan and bring the F150 to the Christening of Bethany on the 15th. :) let's see what I can plot.... hmmmm.....

Daddy and I also talked about a bunch of other stuff, but none of that would interest you, so I'll leave that be. I love Daddy!

So, speaking of this weekend, it's gonna be a busy but fun one. Here's the basic itinerary:

Scary, huh?
I can't wait to see everyone, even if I will be a bit rushed. Wish me the best!

Tonight is also gonna be big. I have to run by the Chiropractor, then it is settling down to making the baby blanket for Bethany, which I can hopefully do in one night. I hope! If any time left over, I will work more on my apron, maybe cut out an underdress. I wonder if I have enough of that pale yellow linen that I used for Signy's dress... not that I wear yellow... ever... but this might work...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next