Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Worthless weekend
2001-08-27 - 5:30 p.m.

Wow, a new entry. I know, hold on to your socks. I just haven't had the time lately. Contrary to GOF and SueEllen, I actually do work at work, occasionally. bastards

So, instead of the Pennsic update, which will have to come later since it will be long, I figure I'd let you in on my fascinating weekend.

I had such high hopes for this weekend. I had a list of stuff to accomplish, etc. and even scheduled in some fun. Well, as they say the road to hell is paved with good intentions, and that's all I had. sigh.

Friday night Alan and I went to dinner and a movie with Kenny, Tonton, Silent Bob and the Angel of Death. We had a blast. Sadly, I'll know to buy tickets for the Arundel Mills theater instead of Snowden, since there is no ticket charge for purchasing online. You learn something new everyday. I'm running a bit late from work, so I speed home, pick up my sweetie, and speed to Famous Dave's BBQ where I drop him off to meet the others while I run to get the tickets since I figured we'd be standing around waiting for a table anyway. I swing by, pick up our tickets, some cute little 14 year old compliments me on my sweater, and I'm back at the restaurant, chillin' and eatin' ribs with my buds. Mmmmmm.... love ribs....

So after a yummy dinner, being entertained by the Angel of Death and her musky teas, like Long Island Ice Teas, but biger, slightly different and with Diet Coke, we went to the movie. I gotta say, right now, go see the new View Askew Production, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back! Now, you must see all four other movies first, or it just won't be as enjoyable. They brought back most of the old actors, if not in their old characters. It was great. I didn't have anything to drink, and it was still funny as all get out. So, now I really need to find a cheap place to buy Clerks, Mallrats, and Chasing Amy, just so I can flesh out my collection. *Wen, next time listen to Mel when it comes to picking out a movie present for me. ;) Anyway, go see the movie, you won't regret it, unless you are old and stuffy, and ultra-conservative, or easily offended.

Anyway, the plan I had for my weekend was to see a movie on Friday night, spend Sat. cutting out outfits for Alan and I and doing the machine sewing and then do hand sewing while watching a few select episodes of Witchblade on Sunday. Such as plans are, it wasn't a bad one. Well, Friday went as planned, but that's about it.

Saturday, Alan got up around 8 to listen to CarTalk and I figured I'd sleep until 9. Of course I am such an overachiever, I slept until 10. lazy ass, me... Got up around 10, we still have no food in the house since our return from Pennsic, so I had Diet Cherry Coke and heated up lil' Smokies for breakfast. yum. Then I got sucked into an hour of TV, of Trading Spaces, evil home improvement shows... After TS, I got up and decided it was time to sew. Sadly I didn't realize the prep that I would have needed to do before settling down to sew. We neglected to set back up the 8ft table in the basement that is ideal for cutting stuff out on, so we had to set that up, but first we had to move the rolled up carpets to another area, then set up the table, then clean off the top of the table since it spent two weeks in the dust like the rest of us, it needed a nice wipe down with Clorox wipes. Finally the table was clean so I go upstairs to get the green linen with which to start my cutting.

Then I realize that my sewing room is a mess since it was the destaging area for unpacking so I tidied it up a little, moving the dummy here, and the baskets there, and needing to clean out that space in order to set that little table back up. The I get set to move the vacuum cleaner out of the sewing room, but notice that the carpet in the study needs vacuuming in a big bad, spent two weeks in our tent at Pennsic, kinda way, so I vacuum that several times and Febreeze the hell out of it. Then the carpet in the den needs vacuuming, but I don't want to clean it since I kinda wanted to replace it with the gold diamond patterned one I got for the tent, so Alan and I move furniture, and remove the old carpet, and clean up the mess left behind by the old carpet, and mop the floor, and dry it with towels, and then finally lay down the new carpet in time for the pizza to be delivered, which we eat sitting on the dirty carpet, but no big deal, since we were dirty anyways. So after lunch, and vacuuming the new carpet, and moving stuff back into place, and Febreezing it, I had taken the bad step and turned on Animal Planet to watch Wildlife Emergency. Bad move, cause with food coma setting in and us snuggly sitting on the furniture for fear of stepping on the newly Febreezed carpet, we watch TV and then drift off to sleep. I blame Animal Planet and my ferret like demeanor of getting easily distracted for my lack of accomplishment. Ohhhh shiny!

So, after Alan has been asleep for an hour and a half and me an hour, the phone rings which is Wen giving me an update on the going out of business sale that Friendstitch is having. Luckily she woke us, or I wouldn't have woken until much later and missed out on the 20% off linen and silk thread. So, I chat with her, pop in the shower, wake up Alan again and have him shower quickly so we pop out to Savage Mill to get string and then proceed onto Costco. Sadly, I don't have the hours of Costco memorized so we got there half and hour after closing time. sigh. no Costco for us.

Alan and I head home, with no bulk food goods, but with a bag full of thread for embroidering and weaving, and I decide that after taking the sleepy Alan home, still recovering from something or other, I run out to the grocery store to get breakfast stuff so we don't have to lower ourselves to pop tarts and lil' smokies again on Sunday. I also rent the movie 28 days for myself, since I know Alan won't be awake to watch it and get dinner from Boston Market. I get home, we eat, Alan heads to bed, I watch the movie, mostly uninspiring, but some funny bits, and one episode of Fawlty Towers on PBS and then I'm off to bed.

Notice that fabric wasn't touched once, not a stitch sewn.

Sunday I wake up late again, and luckily just in time to start the Witchblade marathon. sigh. I meant to only watch the episodes I hadn't already seen. Really, I did. I was going to watch the beginning three hours, and then break to sew and go to Costco this time and then come home to watch the hours between 7-9 that I missed over Pennsic. I should have pulled a Wendy and taped them all so I could watch them later without the commercials, but I was being cat like and living in the eternal now, and so I watched all 13 hours of Witchblade, start to finish on Sunday. Alan made brunch for us around noon. I still sat in the comfy chair of doom. Alan got up and pruned the hedges and cleaned the fishtanks, I still sat. I was like a cat caught in a sunbeam, helpless to remove myself. Finally Alan looked at me and said, "So, you're going to do the Costco run after work tomorrow then?" The eternal now me said, "yep! sounds like a great idea." I sat some more. Alan went and smoked a pipe and read by the pond. I somehow managed to remove my ass from the comfy chair of doom and bring the fabric in front of the TV and cut it out there, and serge a few of the pieces during the commercials of the episodes I had already seen. Wen called wanting to do dinner. I still have not managed to shower, so not fit for social engagements and the episodes I had originally meant to watch started in an hour and a half. I say, I can't go out, but she could bring Outback Takeaway to our place and we could eat in front of the TV. She pitifully hangs up and goes about her own business knowing the futility of it all. She gets sucked in as well, at her own home. We finally order Chinese food, and eat it in front of the TV, get an new menu to start marking up which are good entrees and which suck. Damn you Wendy. And then I watch the final hours, engrossed, Alan has gone to bed, and I stya up even later to watch the season finale, which I must point out, I watch last Tuesday night, less than a week ago. sigh.

So, on the list of things I got accomplished this weekend is:

I suck... all those hours in front of the TV and I didn't even touch the piddly amount of hand sewing left to do on Francesca's outfit. I'm so pitiful...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next