Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

4 days and counting...
2001-07-30 - 2:57 p.m.

So, equal numbers of folks have told me 1) what a sweet thing to say about Rob, and 2) please post another entry so I don't have to read that again... need insulin... I threatened to write a bit about them and they seemed to stop... uh huh, the pen is mightier than the sword, and a sword does you no good if you give it away...

So, memorable quotes from this weekend:

So, Friday was the now ex-boss's last day. We will miss Jim. Mostly we will miss picking on him and his basement to hold parties in, but we'll miss him too. So we went out to lunch in his honor, had a great time, Shane threw bits of paper down my cleavage when I wasn't paying attention.. Any takers for who gets to beat him up first? anyone? anyone? sigh, guess I'll have to take care of it myself... Then we came back and had a very little bit of productive time, and then had the big farewell party up in the onsite bar. Folks spoke in his honor, we drank alcohol, lots, Glenn secured wings from the cute waitress, Lauren, and we had a good time until it was time to leave, cause we all want to escape the grips of Facilities Weasel-boy! ewww.... I feel unclean just mentioning his name... After hanging at the on site bar, we head out to another bar, had a pretty good time, they were a little short staffed, so I played waitress for our group, which I was okay with since it got me up and walking around, helps dispell some of the magic of 6 rum and diet cokes. opps. But then something weird happened. Around 9:45pm, some big bouncer guy came around saying that at 10 this place turns into a club, and that we'd have to pay the cover charge and that we weren't dressed appropriately. We were just sitting in a quiet corner, not bothering a soul, even getting our own drinks, not complaining about the music, nothing, and they had the audacity to ask us to excuse ourselves. Sadly I think our skin was too light, but still, talk about rude. sigh. I managed to drive home successfully, and then crashed in bed pretty hard.

Saturday was working, we got poles for the dayshade made and painted, the new wall sections painted (nice little white paint spot on the driveway), Rob came over and a reasonable attempt at filtering the Coleman lantern's bright white light was achieved (it ain't pretty, but it accomplishes a mission), Alan added some drywall screws to T-bone's benches, conspiring occurred, and then we went out to dinner at Outback with Roland and Nyquil Girl, our new super hero. hee hee hee. At least she didn't drive. Afterwards Alan crashed and Gen watched Shawshank Redemption, great movie, and then someone called me drunk as a skunk at ten til midnight to thank me. sigh, I love my friends. really I do, which is why they aren't dead yet.

Sunday brought rain, being sucked into home improvement shows and When Harry Met Sally, and I swept the floors which direly needed it, and then Laura came over, and Alan cleaned fish tanks, and I thought about working but sat around and chatted, picked up the Mel from the airport where we spotted that fabulous mullet in the baggage claim, I showed Mel the new smart parking system on the first two levels of the BWI temp lot, we went out to dinner with Alan, Laura, Wendy, and Rob joined us eventually... and a good time was had by all.

Things to mark off the To Do list and add to the Done list:

So that leaves, helping Mel with Coronation Garb, work on the TOURS (hey, I should be doing that now), organizational email, more garb and maybe pennons... If I don't make some new stuff I won't have any handsewing to do at war, and while I plan on being busy, I like to have something to occupy me during the down time...

My shoulder still has a knot in it from painting on Saturday.

neep a nap... up too late last night...

I swear the spots on the walls keep moving....

And if I get one more call for Jessica at Verizon, I might just uncork. She apparently put the wrong number on some reports and folks have been calling me since.
Jessica, dead.
her pets, dead.
her friends, dead.
the grass on her lawn, dead...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next