Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Bad Drivers and Bad Webpages...
2001-07-26 - 4:17 p.m.

I'm sorry, I really am, but I just have to share these two links with you guys. It's a moral imperative, they are just so wrong:

Again, I'm so sorry. Make sure you check out the "Fashion Pages", and I use that term loosely, from the second link...

So, this morning as I am driving to work, I get stuck behind what has got to be one of the worst drivers on the face of this planet. Now, we have this little asian woman at work who drives this big white SUV and is like a terrorist on the road. I swear she has almost ran over Wayne a couple of times...in the parking garage...like Wayne is hard to miss... too many near hits. The lady I saw today trumps her any day.

This lady was driving a little gold colored sports car, Mazda RX7 I think. Sadly I am stuck behind her on a two lane road and folks coming the other direction have to swerve several times to avoid hitting her. She is weaving all over the road, like it is a miracle she isn't bouncing off the curb. I am utterly astonished that a person this stupid could pass the driver's test. Then again, maybe she didn't and she's driving without a license. I actually thought about calling the cops on her ass, except I felt the need to keep both eyes on the road in front of me. At one point she puts on her left turn signal, weaves right, bumps off the curb once, and then squeals her tires while turning left. Mind you her various activities while trying to drive, cause she wasn't really succeeding, was talking on the cell phone, reaching for the purse to place the celly in, reaching back for the purse for makeup, putting the purse back, reaching back for the purse, getting out a water bottle, drinking the water and obviously closing her eyes while doing it... And the entire time, there is a small child in the front seat. Not one tall enough to be in the front seat either, not even in a child seat, I swear this lady had a five year old just sitting there happy as a clam while momma risked life and limb of other drivers swerving all over the road. I thought this lady was drunk, or maybe putting in her contacts while driving... freak. When I finally did manage to pass her on the four lane road, I saw what seemed a fitting final picture. The entire side of her little sports car was completely dented up. Looks like she's been playing bumper cars, and I think she has. I didn't think modern cars were meant to take that much abuse.

It reminded me of the quick scene from Gone in 60 Seconds where Chi McBride plays Donny, one of the gang of reformed car thiefs, who's currently working for the DMV doing Driver's license road tests. He has this little asian girl who's taking the test and driving like a maniac, not checking mirrors, crying that high pitched whine, bumping into shit left and right, madness. I thought that this lady could have played that girl easily.

So, if you see a gold Mazda RX7 in the DC Metro area with dents all over the side driven by this princess, get off the road and take an alternate route!!! I'm warning you.

sigh, some people's children. I ain't the world's greatest driver by far, I know, but man oh man, I ain't that bad.

So, today was supposed to be a small lunch with friends including T-bone so I could pick up his tables to add to the trailer stash, not trailer trash, to take up to Pennsic. It was supposed to be T and Yours Truly, the giver and the receiver, Shane and Q, to help lifting shit, and Theo, for comedic value. Of course the PPM invites herself along, and Shane invites the rest of the world, so our little party of 5 blew up to an unmanagable party of 9. Sigh. When I called and made reservations at the restaurant, they asked if this was for a special occasion, I had to say no. Thinking silently that everyday is special when I'm around.... :)

We had to push it back half an hour so the restaurant could accomodate us, which was good since some folks were late anyways, not that I'm naming any names, Kelly and Q. eh. food was good, although way too many tortilla chips in my salad, especially considering I ordered it without...

We did get to meet Sean's new girlfriend. He asked me ahead of time not to scare her away. I'm thinking if he hasn't scared her by now, the rest of us will simply be enlightening... yeah, that's it. She seemed to tolerate us just fine, which was nice of her. She's pretty, petite (bitch...) and mellows Sean, more importantly.

We spent way too long out for food, but the company was worth it. And I got the tables. One less thing to do later on.

The tables and benchs would have very likely fit in the Explorer, but I switched trucks with Alan for the day for two reasons. I guessed that the tables would fit in Scarlet, but we knew they'd fit in the truck. And, Alan has neglected to get the emissions inspection done on the truck, now had a late fee and the registration was going to expire on Aug. 17th if it wasn't done before Pennsic. Damn inconvenient timing. Since the Inspection Station is on my way to work, I figured I could leave an hour early, pack a book to read while waiting in line and get the truck inspected.

Now, I'm not sure what alien ship docked and took all the cars waiting in front of me back to their home planet, but there was no line at the emissions inspection station. I mean no line. Not even in the 4WD lane. It was just freaky. I was in and out of there in fifteen minutes. I only got to read two pages in Emma. It was just not right. So, of course I get to work half an hour early thanks to this. yeah. I guess that almost makes up for the extra long lunch we took.

I can mark one and 1/3 things off the previous To do list. I did the sewing for the sheet wall sections for camp, but still need to guache and paint them, and I made Alan a new terry coif for heavy fighting. yay me. I think it might be a little big, but he'll need to try it on with the helm to know for certain. It's made of the really soft velour terry cloth scavenged from an old bathrobe with too many holes to keep. It's extra soft. I even tacked down the seams on the inside, not quite flat felling, but close, to keep the fray factor at a minimum. Of course now there are little green terry cloth turds all over the carpets in the den and sewing room. I envision a vacuum cleaner in my future... but it is all soft and fluffy. I feel so accomplished, or at least less of a slacker girlfriend anyway...

Maybe tonight I'll work on the dayshade poles. Maybe I'll paint the sheet wall sections. Maybe we'll just be lazy and go to Last Chance instead. Gotta go there anyway to pick up more pennsic stuff from Kev anyway... and the company never hurts. :)

That is the excitment that is Gen's world. I bet you can hardly stand it... :(

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next