Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Homie's and JoAnn's errands
2001-07-24 - 5:24 p.m.

Often I wish the systems I am on would all ask me to change my password at the same time. This one is every two months, that one is every six months, it's so confusing...

I don't appreciate Alan enough. Truly I don't. I often don't think I deserve him, but then again, no one else does either, so I'll be glad to keep him...

Alan woke me up at 7:10am to say goodbye before heading off to work. Since he was going to practice tonight, I'm likely not going to see him until late tonight. Normally, I don't drag my sorry butt out of bed until 7:45am in order to be at work by 9, except on those few days I get up at 6 and go to the gym. I should fix that practice. So, anyway, he wakes me, says goodbye and then I roll over to go back to sleep, only for some odd reason I can't. sigh. So, I drag out of bed, hop in shower and start making a list of stuff to pick up at Home Depot and JoAnn's tonight. Since I was ready half and hour in advance, I decide to try the Homie's run before work and knock out one chore. So I get everything on the list, and a few items that aren't since I'm a girl and I succumb to impulse buys, but there was one thing I couldn't find at the first Homie's and that was 2x2's. Notice I said first. So, I find a staff member, we wander all over the lumber section, nothing. He finds the place where they should be where they are storing a bunch of 2x8's instead. sigh. I ask if he's got a shipment of more coming in anytime soon, and he checks, but his accent is so thick, I couldn't understand a word of it. So, I ask him if the College Park Homie's has some, which he checks and I can at least decipher the yes that escapes his lips. I thank him for his assistance, and head to check out and off to work. Luckily, despite my running around the store like mad, I do manage to get to work only 5 mins late, which is pretty good.

Now some of you may be wondering why I need 2x2's. Not a great concern of yours, I know, but still, I bet your curiousity is peaked at least a little. Remember the story about Wen and I making the new shiny blue dayshade poles for the blue and gold dayshade?

So, Wen and I made new poles for the dayshade for use as the MoL tent at Coronation of Havorc and Mary-Grace. They were bright, blue, bold, shiney and in charge. or something. Notice the "were" part of that statement. We used it at Crown no problem. The next two events it went to, I was not there to see it or collect it and that was the Sunday at 20 Year and the Storvik Novice Tourney. So, somewhere in that time we have lost the bright blue poles and Wen and I so carefully made. I have no clue where they have wondered off too. Even worse, folks remember different things about when it was up at what event, etc. Wendy remembers using it at 20 year, but they moved fields so many times, who knows. Alan says he didn't set it up at Storvik, and yet Shane remembers seeing it up next to Tara and Q's pav. So the poles could have been lost at 20 year, if Alan is right, or at Storvik if Shane is right. sigh, who knows... But, I ain't counting on having them back in time for Pennsic, nor the miracle of them reappearing, so I figured I'd just break down and buy stuff to make more. sheesh... We already got the paint, so I just picked up more 2x2's, or tried to, and got some more 3/8" bar stock for the spikes.

But, you see, the first Homie's didn't have any 2x2's, none at all. How odd. But we decided to have lunch with Kelly and ate at Mamma Lucia's in the Cherry Hill shopping center and stopped by the Homie's there after lunch. Luckily they had plenty of 2x2s to choose from, I just hope they dry more by this afternoon, sitting in the truck...

I also have an errand to run by the JoAnn's to get stuff for making more sheet wall sections and such, to go home and work on projects. I don't know how much I'll get done however since a new episode of Witchblade will be on, and that's getting tough to miss.

Besides, having either Alan or Wendy supervise me while I work with tools is probably a good idea...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next