Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Dells
2001-07-20 - 5:30 p.m.

One of my completely selfish voyeuristic intentions has been stifled lately. Poetaster hasn't updated in so long. I have no clue who this guy is, but I miss him. And I also wish I knew french so I could decipher his last post. I know the last line says "The Poetaster died" which saddens me. sigh.

So, I didn't mean to upset anyone with the post yesterday, it was just a deep down reaction to Hedda Gabler, that's all. I did not mean to taint the memory of one who may have taken their life, but to discourage any contemplating it. It's a tough subject.

So, anyway, next friday is my boss's last day. We are doing a happy hour, or sad hour, or farewell in the Oracle lounge, aka sports bar. ze conference centre staff, zey are zo smart. ze bar iz named ze Oracle at Adelphi zince we are in ze town of Adelphi. how clever. we got him a little present to remember us, which is more fun for us than it will be for him, I'm certain. oh well.

I got paid today. I love that feeling. Go to the ATM in the morning and see that the balance has grown. whahootie! Especially good since I just mailed in my truck payment, cell bill, Lane Bryant bill and need to figure out how much I can afford to pay on the credit card and still have cash for Pennsic, and not choke on high interest rates, and still have moola in the account for the automatic withdrawls. I will pay it off in full, but right now I can't. I bought too much fabric last month, a serger, and a plane ticket. soon, very soon. after pennsic, I hope. Luckily I should get my check from the fed next week, my puny $300 bribe from Junior. Eh, it'll cover the plane ticket.

I got a message from my dad that the grand memorial service/ impromptu family reunion in Wisconsin, my grampa's home town will be on Sept. 29th. Sadly I will miss Mel's event, the Lochmere Baronial B'day. Luckily she is a kind and understanding soul... I'm actually kinda looking forward to driving the trip to Wisconsin. I haven't been there in ages. We went up one summer when the grandparents were there visiting friends, and for their 50th. I could fit into my grandma's wedding dress at that time, age 12, and no you can't see a picture. I had bad 80's big bangs. I remember all of us driving in the minivan, or was that the old station wagon, Bessie. We stopped to watch the locks work on the Mississipi River and took a small steamboat cruise of a part of the Wisconsin Dells. Very lovely. I also remember hiking in this one old trail my dad remembered from growing up. We went to the top of this rock and could see for miles around, even a thin trail of smoke from a fire and the little lights of a fire engine en route. I need to map it and see how long the drive will be, but I kinda want to drive the trip and take my time. Maybe I'll ask for the week off or something.

oh well, off to visit the chiropractor, my friend, my buddy, my old pal. Alan is cooking steaks on the grill tonight. I love him so much. Tomorrow is Brian and Nancy Ellen's wedding, which should be quite fun. Sunday is picking up the trailer and Keilyn's Pavilions to take to war from Patrick. We'll also grab the large tent from Kevin and then I'll need to coordinate getting the tables for the common tent from T-bone.

Pennsic looms. sigh

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next