Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

@#%#@!&
2001-07-12 - 10:27 a.m.

WELL, today has started off just peachy... Late to work, moron in a green rollerskate car going too slow and then too fast for me to get around another slow car, just, sometimes I hate driving in this area. And then I get to work finally and the damn garage gate thing quits working, but folks aren't taking the clue to back up and go around to the other gate, so some nice guy had to stop and direct traffic, but that means that all those morons who were too stupid to go around are now in front of me... issues...I was ready to just ram the gate and break it off and head on in... but there were two cars in front of me.... so, then I have to be behind these slow idiots spiraling up the garage since the garage is packed full and I have to park on the fourth floor. It was so slow and tedious, when I broke free I squealed my tires in the garage. kinda a nice feeling.

THEN I walk into work and all of the overhead lights that we have carefully removed over time to make our work area nice and dark have been replaced by new flourescent overhead lights. I walk in hissing like a vampire in the sun... hissss....... hissss..... I like my little desk lamps thankyouverymuch and hate the nasty glaring headache causing overhead flourescent lights. ack! And since the lights were new, it took me a while to figure out how to take the bulb out to make it stop (hey, I come by my blonde roots naturally) and many of the overhead cases are stuck so we can't get to them, and I scratch up a couple of fingernails and then I get nasty white ceiling tile shit on my lovely black EVIL shirt. And then I have to deal with a call early in the morning, and I can't find my favorite pen (I think the light guys stole it) and there is more icky white ceiling tile crap all over my desk... and the bacon was all burnt upstairs in the cafeteria for breakfast, so I had to have little sausage links....It was just too much

The little things they always hang around, the little things they try to break me down, the little things they just won't go away...

Thankfully, I told Shane Genie's little vampire and two nuns joke, and while making Shane laugh, it also cheered me up a bit. You gotta ask Genie to tell you this joke, if you haven't heard it already, the sound effects are a must. :)


So, last night was sewing at Wendy's and tonight is sewing at Kyna's. Um, I think I need to quit going to these things because I never end up accomplishing anything. Much better on my own with no distractions. Last night I helped Wen and PPM with a sideless and burn testing this fabric she had, I traced out the G63 pattern for PPM with the minor adjustments for Q, and ate the steak that Roland was nice enough to cook for us, despite the little greasefire the steaks were lovely! That is all I got done. loved the company, but I should have just stayed home. Tonight I hope to work on a pattern for the flemish 15th cent. kirtle bodice that I can then adapt to the Italian Ren dress I do. It's a theory and I'm really just rambling at the moment. I also hope to work on a pattern for stockings and maybe snag a copy of Ragnarr's hose pattern to try on Alan, after slimming it down a bit... snicker..

So, Tuesday night was fun... I had signed up to be a beta tester for a part of Margo Anderson's Elizabethan Lady's Wardrobe pattern. Of course I signed up for and got the most difficult bit of the pattern to test, and she had to regrade it and it took longer to get the pieces to me, and then Galmr won Crown, and issues, and the final date to get comments back to Margo was July 10th, and gramps passed on, and so... I sat down on Tuesday night afterwork, read the entire instructions, and started making a mock up, while writing down suggestions, problems, etc. so that I could report back on the pattern. Let's just say due to circumstances beyond my control, trying to make the pattern work was a nightmare. Now, in Margo's defense, she has already fixed a bunch of the things that I think would help and I think it will be a splendid pattern for an entire outfit once it is done, and anyone thinking of doing Elizabethan but who can't work without a pattern should definitely look into it. But, needless to say, I was up until 12:30am or so playing with the pattern and then typing up my feedback sheet for her, and sending it to her before midnight EST. Just barely made it in. I just hope I was helpful... but that did leave me a little tired for Wednesday.

On the plus side, I did finally get our land allottment for Pennsic this year, block N18, and a square footage given. The bad part is that we all have period tents, and while many folks buy extra spaces, at least two to four folks are over their allotment, and the common tent and showers takes up the space given for firepit room. This means that all of our walkways and courtyard will have to come out of whatever is extra... we shall see. Hopefully we can find a way to get more this year than we are specifically alloted, otherwise, it'll be a cramped but stylish camp. And I still need to get measurements for four more tents. I hope they are small... :) I'm sure it'll all work out fine and I'm just being too conservative. yeah, that's it. yay for Visio.

Also, I have updated my schedule on my Webpage. It is mostly planned out to April 6th, and then we rest. So, if you wanna know where I'm gonna be when, or if you wanna schedule a weekend get together, look at the calendar, and see what fits where. sigh. Also, I finally got a pic up of Queen Signy in the outfit I made her on the Viking Dress page. They told me it fit her well, but I had no idea that it would look that good. Doesn't she just look the picture of a viking girl? Now we just need to replace that black leather belt with a woven cloth belt, inkle or tablet woven one. Definitely would look better. And, Beth? The little impromptu pouch was meant to cushion and protect the brooches, not to actually be worn. Oh the horror. I just thought it would be cute for packaging, never again to see the light of day... Please oh please find her another pouch to carry her stuff. I feel so ashamed that it made it into the pics. :( yikes. I think of all the hand sewing put into that outfit and then the pouch I thru together on the machine... you understand, don't you? Thanks for the pic though! I really appreciate it. It complete's my page... :) Can't wait to see you guys at Pennsic! 30ish days left... Oh, and if GOF gripes to you or me once more about having to take your stuff to Pennsic, lemme know where to pick it up, we'll find a way to get it all there. what a whiner he is sometimes...

And, as to those folks who replied to my silly ramblings about hair color and car color... I was talking about girls only. sheesh. Picture a chick driving on the road, windows down, hair whipping in the wind... that is where hair color and car color come into play. Guys can drive whatever color car they want, except pink or purple (Hi B!). For a guy it's not the color that matters as much as the type. Guys have to compensate for something, hence the bigger truck and faster sports car, etc. phenomenon. (Hi Kevin and Q!) It doesn't matter if the paint is half bondo of two diff't shades as long as it can outgun the other guy's vehicle, right? ;) Since Girls don't have this "mine's bigger or tougher" complex to live up to, it's all in the color and style. Who care's if it's only got four sad little cylinders, as long as it's cute! And if you think any of this is serious, you seriously need to get your head examined...

Warner: Elle, pooh bear, I need someone who's serious.
Elle: But, I'm seriously in love with you!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next