Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

'Cause I'm a blonde, yeah yeah yeah
2001-07-09 - 5:31 p.m.

Ah, had a great weekend of pure self-indulgence and relaxation with a little bit of work involved here and there.

First on Friday night we went and saw Legally Blonde. It doesn't technically open in the theaters until this Friday the 13th, but at selected theaters they had 7:30pm showings, so I bought tickets in advance, after consulting Alan of course, and we went and saw the movie with Wen, Rob and Mel! Of course it was packed and sold out, so we couldn't all sit together, but that's okay. Naturally before the movie, I swung by the Chiropractor and the CVS and picked up some blonde hair dye, in the spirit of the movie. Actually, my little sister went bleach/surfer blonde and my cousin Sara is great at the wacky hair colors, and I got inspired. That no one commented on it means that it wasn't a drastic change, just a little bit lighter. I think it looks good. :) Trying to get closer to my inner and outer Bubbles. So I dyed my hair, we saw the movie, and then we went out and ate ribs at Famous Dave's Ribs in Columbia, near the theater. Yummy ribs! Protein monster... P is for protein, that's good enough for me...

Oh, so Legally Blonde is a funny movie, so go see it when it comes out in your area. Reese Witherspoon is so funny and at best the boys and non-blonde girls can laugh or gawk at her outfits.

So, Saturday, I get to a lazy start. Slept until 9am. Got up and layed around the house. Had some hand sewing to do, so I popped Tombstone in the VCR and sat to sewing. We were so lazy that I had lil' smokies for breakfast and Alan had chips and dip. He later got inspired to go by the grocery store while out doing errands and got some bacon so we had bacon and scrambled eggs with cheese for lunch and continued putzing around the house. After Tombstone I watched 10 Things I Hate About You and continued sewing. Alan was productive and worked on some chainmail and painting the finials and new shelves for our tent. :) Then I popped in Tarzan the Disney version. Didn't get all the way through it since we had to get ready to go out. And the bastards at our first level of support paged me with a mostly silly question and an irate customer. Oh well, showered and put on my new denim stretchy dress to head out to dinner. I like this dress, flattering and comfy, all in one. :)

We had plans to meet Mel and folks for Wendy's surprise early Happy 30th birthday dinner at Timpano's Italian Chophouse. Ohh, there isn't a bad item on this menu. Everything is delicious! Wendy was completely surprised. We were all waiting in the bar, and when Wen, Rob and Mel pulled up, folks casually hid behind a curtain and we distracted Wendy until it was time to go to our table. When we got to our table, Wendy asks "How many of us do they think there are?" I casually say, "Oh, about 12" and she turns around and sees the pack of surprise friends who fell in line behind us as we walked to the table and was completely shocked! Yes! Good job Mel! So we had the steamed mussels for an appetizer, and I had a bit of the carpaccio, and the Mozerella fritta, and then had a salad, and then dinner was veal Scia-something-or-other-itlalian, which was lovely. Then dessert was ordered and while I didn't order any, I had some of Kymber's Lime pie, Chuck's Marble Cheesecake, Q's Tirimisu, Rob's Tartufo, and Mel's Creme' Brule. Oh, it was so bad and so good at the same time.... When we got home I was completely bloated and packed with yummy food. I didn't eat until noon the next day and that was a snack. We hung out for a while and then went to go walk off some of the dessert at Barnes and Noble across the way, which was good, and while I looked at books, I didn't buy a single thing. And for those of you who know my impulsive buying nature, this was a big shock to me. In fact I was the only one when the last of us left that didn't have a bag of books. And to go back to being blonde, yes I know how to read. Then we went home and beached the good beach and was out like a light in five.

So Sunday, I wake up around 10 and make my way to the Diet Coke in the fridge. I sit down for more hand sewing. yay. We watched several bad movies on TV after watching Hometime and Trading Spaces. I did go outside once to feed the pond fishies and bask a little in the sun. I have finally completed Rob's black and gold G63, except the ironing. Q, are you heading down to his place this weekend? and I got lots done on Q's too. getting tedious though. Alan and I were too lazy to go out and even cook dinner so we ordered a pizza and he ate half and I ate the toppings from the other half. Ah, luxury.

See, I told you, relaxation and self-indulgence. yay me!

So, that's about it. I hope to hear from the Pennsic Land folks soon to see how many spaces we actually got and then start the mad last minute planning. Also, once I get these G63's out of the way, I can madly work on more pennsic clothes and that sidless for PPM or mantles for us all, etc. Oh boy!

Y'all take care now, y'hear?!

Uh, yeah, I'm, like, totally outta here!
insert blonde laugh here!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next