Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

weekend recap
2001-06-27 - 11:52 a.m.

**Ouch. I wish I could get this headache to stop. It's a bad sign when you stop at the waterfountain on the way in to take 800mg of ibuprofen. Yes folks, that's before the work day has even begun. Maybe it's Nature telling me I need my daily dose of Vit. I, apparently good for those with family history of Althezimers, or something. Right now I feel like PopEye, with my left eye slightly closed, it makes it easier, I think. :(

So, to distract myself and continue the saga of my weekend, those parts that I can remember....

Saturday, I wake up fairly early and start work in the sewing room. I believe Alan and I have officially abandoned all hope of it being a dining room. But with that realization, it is a must more efficeint sewing room. grin. I get the machine sewing done on the parti colored black and gold G63's for Rob and Q, everything except the collars. Since they were parti colored, I couldn't bring myself to sew the black with gold thread nor the gold with black thread, so I pinned them all together, sewed the black on black seams on both garments and then changed the top thread to the gold, sewed the four gold on black seams, and then completed the gold on gold with a gold bobbin. It made sense at the time, I swear. After I finish up these I trace the G63 pattern for Theo and head over to her place for the sewing day. I'm coming to the conclusion that I am much more productive on my own without distractions. Once over at Theo's, I set my stuff down by the door after entering and hang out a bit. I play with Kelly and Amanda with pictures for the Atlantian Royal Gates, which should be really cool. Then I head upstairs to chat with the Mel a bit while she is using the wonderful and heavy new cutting table which is blissfully at the right height. Then I head back to chat with Wen while she starts dinner, and chat with Jake as she plays with the cutting table and the 15th cent Flemish Kirtle bodice. What a cool theory, I can't wait to test the bodice pieces on the bias for the Italian Ren gown I play with. Then I made two batches of the yummy protein goo with the kitchenaide, which was too much of a production, I think the hand mixer works best.

Finally Kelly and Amanda had to take off, and Alan arrived, and we sit down to the lovely dinner of roast chicken, and steamed asparagus wrapped in proscuitto and a garlic cream paste. Ohhhh, was it good!!! We made another batch of the asparagus since it was in high demand. Good stuff, and excellent for the protein diet. Shane, Gina and Katie arrive when we are mostly done, so they sit down, get fed and then we dive into dessert which consists of two batches of yummy goo, no sugar added ice cream and this yummy low carb lemon jelly roll for lack of a better term that Lureta kindly brought. Oh baby! Then we work more and more and help Gina with the sleeve fu for the G63, since she got a pattern to make one for Sir Christian, and was a bit concerned at the sleeve pieces. Then we got to talking other garb stuff and we gave Gina a few simple patterns for underdresses that she could whip out for her and the girls for Pennsic. Ah, behold the power of geometry. Wait, isn't that supposed to be the power of cheese? So I finally finish the collar for Q's G63 so that we could try it on Rob and Shane to see how the pattern fit. Pretty much fit Rob, only needed to not take out some of the slope in the shoulder that I took out for Q and maybe shorten the sleeve a bit. Then we tried it on Shane. Oh boy, what a riot. The sleeves were like a straight jacket on him, and it didn't help that he ran around like a monkey flinging the sleeves everywhere. tee hee. Turns out Gina will need to take about 3/4" out of each shoulder side and about 2-4" out of the sleeve length. After he made the Tigger laugh, we were all done for. As I was getting ready to leave, Wendy comes down in a 10 gore cotehardi and needs some more pinning for fitting. Sheesh, not that I'm not happy to oblige, but as it was, I didn't get home until 2am or so, I think... it was late...

Then on Sunday morning Alan tries to wake me up at 9am for brunch with Bob ad Laura at 10. Is he crazy?!? The answer my friends is blowing in the wind, I mean, yes he is. We call BnL and they are on the computer so we leave a message and Alan continues the assault of trying to pull me from the bed and the warm covers and my comfy pillow. So we eventually get up, go to brunch at the Ram's Head Tavern in Savage Mills. I usually get the Harbour brunch which includes scrambled eggs and a crab cake, yummy. really good crab cake. We ask them about the beach and if they had fun, etc. and Laura gave Alan a shark bottle opener and keychain and me a barbed wire temp tatoo. Groovy baby!

We head back home to work on the tasks for the day. I sew on Rob's collar discovering the true joy of having two working sewing machines is that you can have them threaded with different colors which came in damn handy when it was time to sew the 12 inches of collar, piece by piece. It worked so well that I took the gold side of Q's collar off to redo in gold thread since it really did make a difference. After that I sewed up the girlie G63 for me, which I cut monstorously long, but of navy cotton linen for $3 a yard. Worthy experiment, because it looks great, just needs those finishing touches. Then, we hemmed and hawed about whether to go to a movie, what showing or to be lazy and do a BBQ at home. Let's just say that the BBQ won. I layed down for a quick nap, that ended up taking an hour and a half or so, leaving Alan instructions to make executive desicions and wake me up when it was time. Apparently I slept through all of the planning phone calls just fine, not stirring a bit. Alan woke me up as Bob and Laura pulled up to the house. Laura and I hung out as the boys went to the grocery store and picked up goods for the cookout. We had hot dogs, and some hamburgers, and chips and alcohol and life was good. Shane, Gina, Katie, Mel and Sean later arrived and we all sat around the pond laid back, having a good time. But it was decided that bug repellant, paper plates, more meat and ice would be a good thing, so I hijack the Miata (YAY!) and head up to the store just up the street. Man I love to drive that car occasionally! Umm, I mean, it is nice to keep my manual transmission driving skills up to par every now and then. yeah, that's it. There were no burgers anywhere, so I grabbed what I could, and some ice for the cooler and head home, back to the party. I got bug spray so we'd be eaten a little less. Pond attracts mosquitoes and gnats afterall. I got ice which we dumped in a cooler to take to the backyard so no one had to go far for a drink, and we were set. Sean and Shane passed Navy stories back and forth and life was good. I haven't laughed that much in a long time. That was way better than going to see a movie, although I still do want to see Tomb Raider.

So, it was a great weekend, full of friends and good food and periods of productive sewing, and life is good. Sometimes I love my world, froglicking unicorns and all...

Since then I have completed a bunch of the hand sewing on Rob's G63, the gold half and started on the black side last night. After the hems are done, then I just have to sew the buttons on and make button holes. yay! Then it will be done, done, done, and I will owe him nothing, until the next time he fights for me in Crown... and loses... tee hee, just kidding....

And then Alan comes home from fighter practice last night with a present for me from Laura. She got me a new skull antenna topper, which is much better engineered! I ran out and put it on Scarlet as soon as I opened it. Yay! Laura's the best! Also, our shoes from Historic Enterprises arrived last night, so I had to put them on and wear them around the house last night before I went to beddie bye...

While this has been an excellent distraction, I still have a headache. I guess I could take more Vit. I, but the first didn't do any good. Maybe I'll ask my most wonderfully excellent manager if she would be so kind as to let me go home early...

Oh, and as of tomorrow, my parents will have been happily wed for 31 years! yay for them. My folks rock!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next