Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Hallelujah
2001-06-13 - 5:07 p.m.

Hallelujah

Leonard Cohen

I've heard there was a secret chord
that David played to please the Lord,
but you don't really care for music, do you?
It goes like this: the fourth , the fifth
the minor fall, the major lift;
the baffled king composed Hallelujah!

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Your faith was strong but you needed proof.
You saw her bathing on the roof;
her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you.
She tied you to a kitchen chair
she broke your throne, she cut your hair,
and from your lips she drew the Hallelujah!

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Baby I've been here before.
I know this room, I've walked this floor.
I use to live alone before I knew you.
I've seen your flag on the marble arch,
but love is not a victory march,
it's cold and its a broken Hallelujah!

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

There was a time you let me know
whats really going on below
but now you never show it to me, do you?
I remember when I moved in you,
and the holy dove was moving too,
and every breath we drew was Hallelujah!

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Now maybe there's a God above
but all I ever learned from love
is how to shoot at someone who outdrew you.
it's not a cry that you hear at night,
it's not somebody who's seen the light-
it's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah!

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I can't explain why, but the first time I heard this song was when Isobel played it on the baby grand piano at my aunt's place in New Orleans. I love it... And then it appeared in Shrek, to my surprise, so I bought the soundtrack...

~~~
So, some friends are having relationship problems lately, that will likely end badly. And while I can see and understand all sides, I still pity one above all. It is so sad to be ignored. Like a knife in the back to see eyes that used to long for the site of you, now turned on another, and your touch shunned. There is no remedy but time, and forgiveness. I wish them peace in their hearts.
~~~

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next