Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

laid back weekend
2001-05-21 - 5:30 p.m.

Overall a good weekend.

Friday was dinner and a movie. I went out with Alan, Rob, Wen, Tara, Bob and Laura to eat at Rocky Run in Columbia, home of the 99cent mousse! Surprisingly there wasn't that much of a wait there either. We had a great time, drew pictures on the brown paper with the crayons provided, came up with a lovely design of a regal sideless surcoat for Princess and other cool stuff. Afterwards, all but Tara, since she promised to go with Q, went to see The Mummy Returns which was pretty good. Mind you I liked the first one, and as far as sequels go, it was pretty rockin'. I don't wanna spoil it, but if you liked the first one, you'll like the sequel too. Then again, I just think that the guys who play Imotep and the Pharoh's guard guy are too hot for words. yummm.... It was a great movie and we had a fun time, but sadly we didn't get home until 12:30am. Now normally for a Friday night this would be no problem. However, Gen had to get up and work UMUC Commencement on Saturday morning.

The alarm clock went off at 5:00am, and Gen finally dragged her sorry butt out of bed at 5:45am. I was dressed in my tacky bright yellow staff t-shirt, ate a small breakfast of lil' smokies and diet coke and was out the door shortly after 6am. I gassed up the truck and was at Wayne's to pick him up a little early, so I had to wait a bit before heading out to work. We were supposed to be there by 7am, and we were right on time. Now before you say, "Wayne made you pick him up for Commencement?!?" let me preface it with I offered since the Almighty Wayne has done this lots in the past and knows the best places to park and where to go and what to do. For example, if you don't pick up your name tag, they have no proof that you showed up, so picking up the name tag, even if you immediately leave, is important. So we ran into other folks from the WebTycho group and all ended up hanging out by one of the set of stairs barring anyone who was not staff or wearing a black gown from getting on the floor. I actually ran a few errands and was kinda helpful, but it wasn't too bad. I think the coordinator was just happy that we were there, and weren't surly about it and did some work. If she needed something else done, she could have asked. So we work from 7ish to 8:30 and then they start processing the masters candidates in so that was our cue to leave and Gen was back home and in her snugly bed by 9:30am. And I slept. Boy did I, until a little after noon. Then I was a complete bum, sitting and sewing in front of the TV, washing, drying and folding my recent fabric purchases, and watching bad TV. One of my coworkers, Courtnay, was having a party that night, and while I really wanted to go, I was so low energy that Alan and I ended up ordering a pizza and beaching in the living room. We don't get too many days like that. ahhhhhh..... Now some of you are wondering why did we order a pizza since that is decidedly NOT protein diet food. Well my friends, Alan ate half of it and I ate the toppings (meat lovers, my friends) off the other half. Boy was that decadent, and lazy....

Sunday we chose to have a cookout. While the weather was not grand, it was raining when I was fetching groceries, we seemed to manage. We had some steaks, burgers, hot dogs, and steamed brocoli. Tara brought over more of the heavenly protein friendly dessert only this time with White Chocolate flavoring, oh my. And apparently strawberries are the lowest carb fruit out there, and as Wendy informs us, the only fruit to carry it's seeds on it's skin. Useless trivia woman. So, we polished off Tara's dessert contribution in no time. We also had the indoor crowd, who was too wise or cold natured to go outside, and the outside crowd who sat under our tent and bbq'd in the rain, and drank. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that. We drank, as we are wont to do. :) Laura made a pitcher or two of Long Island Ice Tea using diet coke, so it was almost protein diet friendly and there was beer and cider and cheap wild vines wine and life was good. The one bummer was when I got paged, but luckily that didn't take too much time. :) Folks were all finally gone by 11pm when we crawled into bed. I swear that I love having folks over since it gives me an excuse to clean. Otherwise the dust bunnies have a tendancy to breed.

So, this week I have to prepare my office for transition, since I'm giving it over at 20 year celebration into the capable hands of my Emergency Deputy. She'll do fine. She has passion in areas that I have none. I wonder in my stepping down bit if I can weasel for me and Thjora to not have to judge competitions for the next year... wouldn't that be loverly... So, I have to update the roster, since Ima slacker, and file and make sure all is kosher with corporate, etc... but then I'll be done and I get to focus on Princess... yay.

See y'all later :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next