Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Genie? Gen? huh?
2001-05-18 - 5:13 p.m.

In honor of Genie's birthday on Sunday, Gen will tell the tale of how she chose her SCA name.


So, I was going by a name, that no one used, and as far as I know, only one other person still knows. Let's just say it was way before Xena was popular, and given to me by the guy who got me into the SCA. So, since no one was using this name to refer to me, I figured I might as well pick a new one, I was young and still had time.

At the time I was dating Jeremy and we were hanging out with this cool chic named Genie. Poor Jeremy reminds me of Pooh, a bear of very little brain... Genie had broken up with her previous man, and so the three of us were tight. We did almost everything SCA together. But since Jeremy is a boy, he had trouble keeping us straight. He kept on calling me Genie and her Jen. It was a recipe for disaster. I decided to only add to the confusion, and chose her real name as my SCA name. For those of you who didn't know that Genie was short for Genevieve, now you do. Of course Genie's name is pronounced GIN-ah-Veeve as oppossed to the snooty french pronunciation that I use which is John-VEE-ev. Subtle differences, but I thought that all Ginaveeve's pronounced it that way and that as a Johnvee-ev, I'd be different. sigh.... I was so naive. This way he could call us both Genie and it would be okay. Isn't that cute? I kept the name for quite some time, and like many cool things, like Moira (Moy-Rah), it stuck, which was much better than the previous name. My last name came later at 12th Night in Marinus when Jaella was ready to register my arms and said I needed a last name to go with it, and asked strangers in the hall way to choose a place in France, and thus Aquitaine was chosen.

Of course somewhere between me taking the name and getting a last name, Jer and I broke up and he started dating that really cool chic named Genie, who he had the wisdom to marry, eventually! Interestingly enough, he never called me Genie again after I chose the name, and now all of my friends still call me Gen, but hey, that's life.

So, that's how I got my name. No inspiration from a famous author. Nothing out of a SciFi novel or comic. Nothing with great ties to history or family history, no french in lineage at all. Nope, my name was chosen to be easy and taken from this really neato groovy chic named Genie. Yup. that's it. But, it's not as lame as choosing your real first name like Kevin, Alan, Robert, and Quentin...


other notes of interest:

Tara made the protein diet dessert that involves a bunch of whipping cream, cream cheese and pudding mix and it was delightful! It was banana flavored, and I dislike bananas, but it was soo delightful!

the folding party was fun. Mel and I dragged Tara and Quentin to the folding party, and I think all had a fun time, especially since we are special and Kevin fed us much yumminess in the form of red and yello peppers and chicken breasts, and they have the most lovely red roses and white irises in their backyard. We were also very kind and didn't rat out Tara as the little Princess at the folding party in the presence of some Ponte Alto newbies...

and I made it to the gym this morning for a full ladybug. YAY! I earned a full ladybug. will explain more on that later.

love,

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next