Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

back in the saddle again...
2001-05-16 - 10:49 a.m.

Father, forgive me for I have sinned. It has been five months since my last visit to the gym...

Okay, so paying $35 a month to be a member of a gym and not going was just too silly. I finally got off my ever spreading ass and went to the gym yesterday morning, and surprisingly enough this morning too! be proud of me... Mind you, working out was much easier this time with me carrying 30lbs. less of me around. Much easier on the knees and I never once got an inkling of shin splints while on the treadmill. So, I set the alarm for 6am, and instead of rolling back over and hitting snooze for an hour and a half, I actually got up, greeted the new day, put on gym clothes and went to that old friend. I was so thrilled to see that they had put in three more of the cross trainer machines. This gladens my heart, since those are the best cardio and work your muscles machines out there. They don't hurt your back like the stairmasters. They don't have impact for your knees like the treadmills. And they aren't as boring as the bikes. Love the crosstrainers. Elipses are your friends. Well, since those usually take a little bit to work up to, I did 20 mins on the treadmill, doing my best hamster impression, then crunches and stretches and then I tried one of the new inner thigh and outer leg machines, that looks a little rude, but works the muscles needed to trim those thighs back to managable. I also did the hamstring machine and then 10 minutes on the recumbent bike before heading home to shower and run off to work. That was yesterday. Today I was a little sore, as I knew I would be, and was up too late doing laundry that I just couldn't get up for a great workout, but I did make it up in time to at least get 20 mins in on the treadmill this morning, so YAY me!

I've heard that the key to loosing the last few pounds on the protein diet is to exercise. I should be working out anyways to keep the rest of my body in good shape, just so the fibromyalgia, or whatever the doctor said it was, doesn't act up. The Chiroprator keeps it mostly at bay, but the gym does a lot towards keeping the pain off too. If I could just loose ten more pounds I would be at a pre-college weight, that would please me beyond compare.

Okay, enough of my shallow vanity...

Monday night I went with Wen, Rob and Mel to see A Knight's Tale and man was that a funny movie. The SCA so wants to be this movie, only with better clothes. Luckily, I had seen a making of the movie special on Sat in the hotel, so I was prepared for the music, clothes and hairstyles, not to mention the ... er... dancing. It was very amusing. The costumes, in their own right, were quite spectacular. Not accurate in the least, but fantastical, like Episode One costumes for Amidala, excellent in contruction and creative. The music I found stimulating. I want the soundtrack for road trips, definitely. I think it emphasized the right parts of the movie for those perhaps who may not have understood the setting as well. Tied it in with the modern times well to engage the audience. Even the small theater crowd we had on a Monday night could really get into it, cheering and all. Even the hairstyles were very intriguing, in a punk sort of way. It doesn't hurt that Heath Ledger is just yummy either. This will be purchased when it comes out on DVD and I feel a burning need for the soundtrack...

So last night Wendy and I went fabric shopping. Okay, so nevermind that I just ordered 36 yards from Fabrics-store.com, but those are all for different projects and these were here and now. I also got stuff for Shane and Gina to help outfit them for the reign. So, I bought 41 yards, but 22 are for Shane, and only 19 are for me. Still sounds bad, doesn't it? They had this lovely pale green, and a nice dark green that I can make Alan a token viking outfit for Coronation in the fall, and some nice pale blue and this excellent white stripe linen for veils. I'll have to make PPM a veil soon to help jazz her up. They also had a nice natural striped thicker linen, but I just ordered some, so I couldn't buy more, I just couldn't... or shouldn't... really... To quote the PPM: "You're a regular fabric store yourself." must.. resist.. the urge.. to buy more...

SO, after the fabric binge, I went and did some grocery shopping and then went home to tackle the 7 or so loads of laundry and now I have new fabric to wash. Oh the burden... I watched Buffy and Angel and Judging Amy before finally giving up on laundry and heading to bed. Exciting day and evening, but nothing much to really write about...

What I need to do is have a project sitting at the side table next to the comfy chair. Then when I plop down it in, there is at least something to do that I don't have to get up for. The Gen, she is so lazy....

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next