Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Cuan and Padraiga are married...
2001-05-14 - 5:31 p.m.

I'd like to thank the Anonymous Goober in my guestbook for the reminder to avoid looking like part of a clique. I swear that Tara is the best human in this world in this department. I have never seen her ignore anyone, new or old. She actually goes out of her way to introduce herself to new folks, everywhere from hanging out with friends in a bar to at events. She's great, I will strive. Thank you! And please know that if I have ever seemed rude to anyone, new or old I was either grumpy or distracted, and I'm sorry. :)

I'd also like to apologize to Kimmie Kim Kim for pausing the conversation and not picking it back up, Sorry! Got wrapped up in helping folks out and then you left. It was soooooo nice chatting with you, girlfriend! Keep up the good work and having a blast fighting. If you want me to bring a basket of string to teach basic finger weaving to the youths interested on Sat. at 20 year, just let me know. I'm sure Princess would let me go for a bit...


So, this weekend was the big wedding of the Cu-cu to the Tricia. Wow! I was very impressed that no one yelled "You owe me a $20!" after the vows. We were all on our best behavior. Tricia looked stunning in her gown. It was elegant white silk dupioni with off white lace at the hem and waist, she was breathtakinly beautiful... And I must say that Arthur, Doug and the Keig looked pretty good in tux's as well. And the Luned was in babe-mode, make-up and fancy hair and everything. The ceremony was simple and yet lovely. Nice homily by the minister, but I must say that after I thought that he was done and then he picked back up for the third time, and I sighed, I told Kymber afterwards that now I know how some of my friends feel when talking to me. "Geez Gen, would you just shut up!" The reception was a blast as well. The food was to die for, and protein diet friendly, which was nice. yummy salad, asparagus (which I refrained from doing the "Dangerous Beauty" stunt with, thankyouverymuch) and excellent pork. I also had a small amount of the cake that Seonaid had made. I tell you, it was lovely, three or four layers, some white with raspberry icing in layers and some chocolate, with lovely white icing with dogwood flowers in candy form for decoration. It was wow! Had to tell Seonaid that it was a religious experience. It was. Then I salsa danced with Brian a bit while Nancy-Ellen taught the Keig to salsa. Then there was much chatting and hanging out with folks. I also got to meet Tricia's cousin Cindy from New Jersey who was a hoot and we talked about tats. :) Gen stopped drinking the White Zin when the bartender said "You Again?!?" That was a good sign to switch to Diet Coke. Occasionally I'm not as thick headed as some think I am.

After the reception, we went back to the froofty Inn where the Bridal party was staying and the parents for Doug to drop off his tux and then go drinking some more. Well, we kinda got stuck hanging with other folks in the lobby of the nice hotel, since Arthur's dad had bottles of scotch for drinking and Keig got some Oban, which is one of my favorites, and we nursed that for a bit. Finally he got up and got himself more and me a glass of my own. Thanks Keig! Rags and Kymber and Diane wanted to head back to our hotel and change and then come back, but I had scotch so Rags had the keys and told them to go without me and kindly bring me back a change of clothes. That was very nice of them. I love my friends who take good care of me. We stayed in the lobby drinking and chillin' until around midnight. I got to meet Arthur's bro, Andrew, who was very nice and explained my relation to Arthur and he very kindly asked how Tracie was doing, etc... Andrew was alright by me. We eventually made it back to our hotel and crashed hard since we had a long drive back on Sunday.

Sunday was a lovely but not leisurely breakfast with Doug and Diane at the Bob Evans and we were packed with protein and on the road. That was very nice, although sometimes I felt like I should have brought a book when they talked about household stuff with Rags and Kymber. Oh well, used to being fly on wall... Then we had to stop at the Kmart to get Chuck new shoes since his current ones were stinky and then got on the road.

Now I drove the entire way to Ohio, all eight hours including the torrential rain in western PA, West VA and Ohio. This was not planned for, but I did get to use the 4WD and test out the wipers, etc on the new truck. Kymber slept the entire way there and Chuck and I had a great time chatting and singing along for 8 hours of the trip there. Mind you "The Blonde" forgot the directions again, so we consulted the atlas in the car and had to call 411 at 4:30am to get the number to get directions to the hotel we were staying at, but it all ended up well. So since I had driven the entire way there, I drove about 3.5 hours on the way back and then passed the keys off to Kymber for the rest of the trip while I slept and test drove my own back seat for sleep worthines, and worked on some button holes and lucet and finger weaving...

So, I have a new truck that I have owned since Thursday, that Kymber says needs an accelerator, but she usually drives and Celica, so I think the comparison is unfair, and it has already passed the maiden voyage and has 1,239 more miles on it than when I bought it. :) Love Scarlet, she's the bomb. Is it coincidence that Wendy was almost named Scarlet and I seredipidously named the truck Scarlet? Hmm......

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next