Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

etc.
2001-05-11 - 4:24 p.m.

Thanks Wen. Now I'm not in the mood to update my diary. sigh... so, I'll handle some basic stuff and try to be helpful instead of harmful...

Celyn asks, what is a G63. For a while, I was confused about the G part too. The G63 is the item of clothing, let's call it a gown, from the Greenland dig called the Herjolfsnes Tunic No. 63 whose basic pattern can be found at that link. Kymber has an excellent pattern drafted that fits a 6ft tall man. This has also been adapted to make a lady's houpelande by extending the 8 body pieces in length. Edjumakashun...

Gen's account of Crown had already been posted earlier this week. Fun fun event, really...

Bera and Christian are off to meet the parents in Naples. Sounds like fun, wish I could go too. Not so much to meet Chris's parents, but to visit Italy. I'm such a mooch.

I've never ridden in the EMASCULATOR, but I have seen it in action. Kinda scary. Now that's a truck!

Caitlyn- Crab is indeed the name of the dog from the Two Gentlemen of Verona, but since you are such a faboo English teacher, you already know that. ;) And he was played by the cutest well bred mutt I have ever seen. Aww... Comedy and a bit w' a dog....

Christian, how could I be a man hater with my sweet Alan around? Ask anyone, I love men! Actually while driving my new truck around last night I felt the burning need to pop in a Indigo Girls CD since I don't/won't listen to Country music. Tortured as a child by country music. So I took the lesbo rock route instead.

Uh, I think I answered/replied to all the recent stuff in my guestbook, as far as I know.


Now onto something a bit serious. One of the things I have heard mentioned to Peers upon their vigils is to not step on anyone's dreams. I think this is a good philosophy, especially for Peers in the SCA since they are the ones who a stepping from has greater impact. I believe this should also be followed a bit by everyone in the SCA. Don't step on someone else's dream, period. Now if they ask you to, you need to be as gentle as possible.

Where is this heading, you ask? Basically occasionally you will hear/read me rant about goobers and such in the SCA. Now one thing that is very important is that everyone started out as a goober, just most of us got better. Almost everyone at their first event, or first year of events, or something was either silly looking, nosy, unhelpful, rude, or in some other way a goober. We all start out as goober, lord knows I was, in many ways still am, and therefore todays goober may become tomorrows Knight or Laurel or Pel. This doesn't mean that you should treat people nicely because of what mythic SCA power they may yield in the future, but rather that you treat everyone with respect.

I believe Countess Emer, Baroness of Sacred Stone, said it best when speaking of Master Oshi's courtesy during his elevation to the Order of the Pelican this weekend. She said, mind you Gen-filter included, that you can tell someone is courteous when you see how they treat everyone. If someone is only nice to their friends, and those of higher rank, they are not necessarily courteous. Someone who is kind to everyone, treats everyone with the same respect whether they be new to the society or have 20 years of experience under their belts, is a truly courteous and worthy person. The Countess speaks much wisdom.

Sadly, I would like to be this way, but I know it is a long road for me. Not so much that I am intentionally and particularly rude to new people and suck up to others, but that sometimes I don't know what to say to someone I know nothing about. Not that you would ever guess it, but I am shy in much the way that Cuan is shy, sort of. Nevermind, this is stupid, I can't explain it.

Basics is that treat everyone with respect be they Princess or newbie, especially if you are in the position to ruin somebody else's good time.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next