Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Goddess on a Mountian Top...
2001-05-02 - 2:12 p.m.

Wow, lots of folks are posting their event drinking til you puke stories, so, hey, I'm such a follower. Besides, many have heard and lived this one with me.

Drunken Venus- Goddess on the Mountain Top

So, at Pennsic last year I got drafted to be Venus at Lochmere's event at the end of that Sept., the Judgement of Paris. The poor sweet thing who was supposed to be Venus had to drop out last minute due to life attack, and therefore, I was given ten yards of red linen, not much else of a clue by the event organizers until I sought them out and a month to make a drop dead outfit. Uh, huh, that's how this group often works.

So, the day of the event arrives. I had stayed up until 2am doing last minute sewing and was even working on more lacing holes at 9am to get the outfit done. I get dressed, I'm radiant, I have a ball being the center of attention part of the time, playing up to the part of the Goddess of Love, also giving eroneous tasks to Psyche and yelling at Cupid and other stuff periodically throughout the day. My boy, Aeneas, was also a great contributor to the schtick that day, asking me if such and such pleased his mother, life was great. Love and Courtesy was obviously chosen by Lady Susanna who got Paris's choice as the most important virtue, and she did a great job playing it up more at feast. I got a bottle of Godiva liquer as a thank you for being a goddess, Like I get to be a goddess every day? No, Thank You! and we had a lovely feast and all was well.

After feast, Rob/Sir Bobby pulls out the gallon jug of tequila and asks if I want some. Oh, no thank you. I'm so drained from today and tired from working late nights on this dress, I couldn't possibly. I was fine turning down straight tequila, no problem, because Gen and tequila are a bad combination. So, then we chat a bit and Kymber, the evil Kymber, says, does anyone want margaritas? Of course, while Gen is not a fan of tequila, she rather likes a good margarita. Ask Galmr about the time Mel and I were going to get tatooed last year and got waylayed by margaritas, he was buying.

So, Kymber starts making up margarita's, really strong margaritas, and lets just say that the evening devolved into tequila shots, or rather up-ending the bottle, followed by a margarita chaser. Yikes, you say? Tell me about.

So, it is about this time that Kymber notices that Ragnarr has gone to bed, and the three or four guys he left to look after the Kymber had either also gone to bed or were about as drunk as we were. She giggles mercilessly, and thus the Giggle Twins were born. Giggle Twin powers activate, form of two drunken chicks from Black Diamond!

I remember that there was a Bardic circle around a fire where drunken songs were sung, Cuan sang for us, well as usual, but not that I remember much of the particulars. I remember Kymber and I putting on Cuan's Ducal Coronet upside down and wearing it like a collar, as it fell over our ears. I remember once we finished off Rob's bottle of tequila, I'm not sure if he got much of it at all, that we started in on some Captain Morgans, and god only knows who that belonged too. I remember Alan and Johann Krieg taking it away from us several times for Kymber to get it back some way. If you hadn't noticed, I blame this all on the Kymber, all of it, especially the morning after. I remember several drunken walks to the girls potties which were in the hall, and the folks in the hall laughing at us laughing. I remember that going to the loo in those damn sleeves was tough enough sober, but really tough when stumbling. I remember Kymber and I leaning on each other for support, such that while walking we formed a triangle. I remember Alan lovingly giving us water before making us go to bed. I remember that Alan finally took the Kymber to bed, leaving me being watched at the fire by others, since all of her other keepers were once again either now passed out or asleep. I remember finally crawling in bed, only to get the urge, once more, to potty, but luckily made it on my own that time. I remember trying to puke in the toilet to no avail and then going back to bed. I remember waking up in the wee hours of the morning feeling very sick, like I was finally going to puke, and discovering the joys of not staking our tent walls down, so that I could get my head out of the tent without too much effort. I remember then finally sleeping soundly until I woke up the next morning with a sour stomach, aching head, and more bile. I remember that Bob, my godsend, had Rolaids. I remember packing up the next morning in the blazing sun and having the tequila sweats luckily while taking down camp, so they could be just passed off as working hard. I remember sleeping like a rock once I finally made it home and cursing the day I ever decided to drink margaritas with Kymber.

You see, there are many things that I don't remember from that night. But the few things I do remember are enough to go, Yeah, that was fun! and then I remember the end, and I think No more tequila for the Gen! Luckily there was some straw around the site that we used to cover up Gen's little shrimp spillage. Now, to this day, whenever I see Johan, he looks at me and says: Venus.... I remember you... with this silly knowing grin on his face. Oh the humility. And, you can count on your friends, especially the evil Kymber to be so kind and perky the next day as to yell at you, How ya feeling!?! when you are obviously suffering. That's what they are there for. Damn non-suffering Kymber, she's evil I tell ya. ;)

So, to prove that Gen has some learning curve and that it isn't as steep as we might often think, Gen avoided the Baracuda Party at Pennsic this past year. For while I am sure that it was all kinds of fun, I don't need to be tempted into drinking tequila anymore. No shot-of-tequila-blow-the-horn Mooselodge parties for me anymore either. How come no one ever chooses rum, or vodka, why must it always be tequila, evil vile stuff that it is.


So, as to the rest of my world, I sewed the hems of the dress and lining together last night and pinned the sleeves and neckline for handsewing on the drive down. I hope our Crown hotel has an iron and ironing board in it. I tried the block printing with fabric paint and it was just sad. Barely showed up at all, so hopefully I'll get to printing it at a later date, after searching for advice, and tips from Brighid. I think I need to switch from using fabric paint to acrylic paint. Either that or switch from a stamp to a stencil. sigh.

Have the play tonight for Two Gentlemen of Verona and I actually want to see this one, so no skipping it for me. I guess I'll be skipping Last Chance and sewing more madly. I still don't have anything appropriate to wear as an underdress for this white and red monstrosity. Pray for coolish weather this weekend, as cool as May in SC can be.

Oh, and I found a picture of Two of my most favorite people in the world!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next