Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Found the Painting online
2001-05-01 - 4:20 p.m.

I finally found a picture online of Saints Peter and Dorothy the painting that has the dress I am trying to make in it. It took me quite a while to find it. Not knowing the title and artist and the difference between searching on "St. Dorothy" and "Dorothy". sigh. Although this is a rather fuzzy picture, you see St. Dorothy clothed in this lovely gown of white, wool presumedly to get that opaqueness, but at the cuff and her pulled up hem you see that it is lined in a lovely red and gold brocade. Also, her underdress is a lovely red and gold brocade, of a slightly different pattern, maybe. The picture I have at home is clearer if smaller. This, in my opinion, is one of those hieghts of style. To have something soo cool and to not show it off. Yeah, I made this cool dress, but I'll cover it up. and I'm so cool I can line my dress in the fancier fabric. Subtley ostentatious, or something.

So, I've completed the dress itself out of cream flannel, cause it is opaque without being wool, itchy and hot- nothankyou. I've completed the lining of red cotton to be block printed in design instead of buying the really fancy stuff. Tonight I get to cut the hems to be exact and play with paint. Sadly the lovely stuff I had is all dried and I just hope that the stuff I got at a crappy Jo-Ann's will work well. Don't worry, I'll do a test piece before I commit. Once the paint is on and dried I then need to sew the hems together and do the final hand sewing at the neckline and cuffs. It should look really rockin', I only hope I finish it in time. I, of course, forgot that I have a play tomorrow night so I can't work on it then. I forsee skipping Last Chance on Thurs. to complete this. And I need to find/make something as the undergown, because what's the point in showing off the lining if the undergown is crappy looking. It has to be equally as cool. Hmmm....

Oh yeah, and there is still a crackhead part of me that wants to make a G63 for Rob. I'll have plenty of time to hand sew on the drive down and during the tourney on Sat, right? sure, gen

What else has my day consisted of? I went to the Dr. at 11:45am to get looked at for this sickness I've had for over a week now. I pee in a cup. I take their silly breathing test. I get listened to with the stethascope and asked to say "Ahhhh..." Doc said it is allergies that enflamed into bronchitis. blah. So, I have Claritin, Penicillin, some cough syrup that "might make you sleepy" and such. Let us hope that it all does the trick and Gen is healthy and happy for the 8 hour car trip with her friends on Friday. So, while I wait for those Rx's to be filled, I ran over to the small Jo-Ann's to get fabric paint, which is of course the last thing I find in the place and not exactly what I was looking for. Hopefully I can dilute it with a tad of water to work on this red cotton. Please oh please work. So, since I'm crazy I also get some fake pearls to make a necklace to hang a pendant off of, clasps and such for the necklace, some embroidery floss that was on sale, and new quilters pins since I've noticed that the large majority of mine are a bit bent. Go fig, something of mine getting bent... hee hee Will I get to everything? I'm best under pressure. I wonder what our play is and if I could skip it and not care? I think it is Two Gentlemen of Verona which I really shouldn't miss, culture and all that.

So, yes, my life has consisted of working, sewing and being sick for the last three days. Not terribly exciting, but hey, what do you do. Maybe Wendy will send me a new cool word so that I can post something of interest here....

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next