Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

weekend and still sick
2001-04-30 - 2:35 p.m.

Ah, back to work on Monday. I don't feel like recounting the entire weekend since I'm so tired. Why are you tired Gen? you might ask. Well, it would be because I stayed up too late last night working on a dress for Crown. We shall see if I actually finish it. It is theoretcally going to be like the Herjolfsnes dress No. 39 only no eyelet holes at the neck and long loose sleeves. It's a theory, and if I make it work, it will be somewhat of a miracle. Odds are against me and yet I persevere. It is based on a painting dated ~1507 and has two saints, one of them being St. Dorothy. I'll look for a copy of it online, but I've only found it once and then it was black and white. blah blah blah, more sewing.

On the note of sewing, I finished Alan's G63 houppelande. Those at court at Hastilude would have seen me sitting closely next to him on a bench. That was because I was working on the last remaining bits of the hem. But I did finish the hem before the end of court, and finished the buttons and button holes on Saturday night and Sunday morning. I washed it last night while I was cutting out fabric, and now need only to iron the seams flat so it lays right on him. Maybe, if I finish my dress I'll make Robert a black linen G63 this week too. I'll have to upsize it and take a lot of the slope out of the shoulders, but otherwise it should be easy. right... I'm such a crackhead.

What else? Um, Alan has my symptoms and is now acting like I was last week and still am to a certain extent, only he doesn't have seasonal allergies that I know of, only to cats. This is so odd, I made an appointment to see my Doc tomorrow since I am tired of sounding like Barry White's love child. Talking all this weekend certainly didn't help me though.

We had a fun weekend hanging out at Hastilude and hand sewing under the dayshade, visiting with old friends; Baroness Caitlin and Rosine, and new friends Moira and Cesca periodically throughout the day, while watching the boys fighting over trash cans. It was a bit odd, the fighting not the company. I did get roped into judging the A&S competition with Thjora and Maggie which is two or so hours of my life that I will never get back. Karen has tried to give me a little perspective of things, that when I judge, those that recognize my name when I sign my comments might feel some high about the fact that it was the KMoAS leaving those comments. I don't know. I guess I do need to look at it from the perspective of what I'm giving the entrants as oppossed to what time I've lost to judging competitions. Sometimes it is so tough to come up with kind and constructive criticism. I'm becoming a master of Spin. Hey, can I get a Laurel in that? I used the following quote often, "Your excellent talents and efforts would be well put towards -said art- in linen, wool or silk." instead of, "Why did you use cotton?" and such. I'm such a snob.

Thjora also brought her friend, or rather daughter of a friend but she was really cool too, to her first event. She fits great in Thora's cotehardies so life was excellent and she got to learn how to use the lucet, shoot archery with surprising accuracy, and look over the great stuff entered in the A&S competitions as well as watch the humorous fighting. I think she will be coming back, which will be cool. So, those boys who noticed the cute little brunette chippie in Thjora's salmon colored cotehardie, back off, she's 14. And besides she's got a boyfriend who is pretty sharp, as he survived dinner with a bunch of stodgy adults including two English teachers, a bunch of quasi-historians and reading buffs, and his girlfriend's mom. It was a pretty fun evening, if a bit odd. But hey, welcome to the SCA. Sunday we were slow moving and had a leisurely breakfast and lunch at Double T's barbeque on Cary Street in the Fan District of Richmond. Then we walked around and window shopped, and I found an irresitible gift for Anton. Anyone know if he'll be at Crown this weekend? So, needless to say, we didn't get on the road until 5:30pm and was home around 7:45pm. We took scenic 301 to avoid backups on 95, rather the we that is me, since Alan was dead asleep trying to shake off this couching, sniffling, sore throat madness that we have. blech.

See you guys later. I had fun hanging with my Peeps this weekend!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next