Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Fresh flowers, tatoo and Piazza
2001-04-23 - 3:04 p.m.

happy sigh I got to continue my Sunday tradition of gathering fresh cut flowers from the yard, now three weeks in a row. I found four more new types of Fodils. I'm so excited. I love having the house full of flowers, and I got to use my new vase that I bought in Ellicot City on Friday.

But, before I get ahead of myself, I took off work on Friday to sleep in, a little, go to the chiropractor, since I missed him on Wed., and go to Ellicot City with Laura to get a tatoo. This all sort of started in Nawlins when we thought of getting tatooed there. Well, we had so much fun with the other charms of Nawlins, and besides Laura knew of this great place in EC that was super clean and super cool. So, I head up to her place around 11 and we are there when they opened at noon. She had a drawing of what she wanted, and I had hard examples, but couldn't find a great line drawing of a fleur de lis, so they photocopied this antique pin Alan had bought me a while back, and did a line drawing from it and there was my tatoo. The guy who painted us was named Norm, and was sweet as could be. They were extra clean, had us sign waivers, gave us instructions, heck they even completely swabbed down the working area with a bleach solution between our tats. It was very encouraging. Currently the skull on her hip and the fleur on my shoulder are healing fine. Thanks to Norm from Hysterical Tatoo in Ellicot City. Yay Norm!

So afterwards, Laura and I aren't terribly hungry thanks to the dull pain, so we head out to an antique mall and shop around. I picked up a red glass vase, since we need smaller vases in our house, a cloisinne gift for a friend and something fleur de lis to add to the Privateers booty to gift to HRM at the end of her reign, or possibly Pennsic. Eventually the hunger pangs kick in and we settle down to lunch at a restaurant in EC before heading home to pack and set up for the event. Laura sings a song for Gen and the waitstaff applaud, and the bartender was hitting on Laura, but she took it with the best of intentions and was flattered.

At this point, Gen just wants a nap, but we pack up the truck with everything and head out to Camp Barrett for Night on the Piazza. We find a place to set up our tent, and soon afterwards Q and Tara set up on one side, and Tristan and Lisette set up on the other. Alan remarked later on that events and the period pavilions have come a long way in the past ten years, because the field certainly did look like a town of tents. Reynard gave us the "prize" for the best looking tent at night with my lovely fleur de lis divider walls Hi Byram! and one lantern lit and a row of tables and chairs. We forgot the carpets, but for a weekend event, it looked fabulous. We headed out to dinner with Bob and Laura and then hung out with folks on site before heading off to bed kinda early in preparation for the busy day ahead.

Saturday brought many diversions. Folks from all over ended up using our tent to hang out in, or drop stuff off in, etc. There was a morning court before many of the activities got underway, but after the muster to explain what was going on to all participants, and much gladness was bestowed. Many deserving AoA's were given, Etain/Jess was given a Silver Nautilus for her involvment with the Rose Ball at Coronation, Baroness Arianna Morgan was given her Pearl for music and Lady Brighid of the Really Big Hats was also given her Pearl. All in all it was a grand court. Wayne got some pictures of the courts and has put them up on his SCA page. In the evening court Shane/Llewellyn got his AoA and Jehan Yves got his Pearl as well.

After the muster and court, Gwen and Kevin showed up with the Acorn bits to be folded. Not to be too smug and vain here, but if I didn't already have my GD, I'd have earned it for this one day. Theo and I spent the rest of the day locked away inside helping with the assembly, stapling, folding, creasing, sealing, and labeling of the 1300 Acorns from noon until right before the next court pausing only for a quick and obscene lunch and random pee breaks. It was good of Gwen to push back the production of the May Acorn in order to accomadate some last minute changes, but we were missing the regular skilled labor of the folding crew. And while many folks dropped by from time to time, it was hectic, and disorganized, and many folks screwed up a bit, and some folks dropped by for only like 20 mins, did their bit and then left. There was a lot more work to do than a normal folding party and there was less skilled labor to do it. Sigh, hence it took most of the day. That evening at court and feast our table, who consisted of Alan and I, who had fought and folded all day, Wen and Rob, who had folded and fought all day, and Kevin and Gwen, who had marshalled and supervised the folding all day, no small feat, our table was the most dead table at that feast. Barely a word was said between us, not due to lack of friendship, but lack of energy, Gen almost fell asleep on her plate, and in general we were all dead and quiet. oh well. The feast was yummy, and I charged up a bit afterwards thanks to the infusion of protein, the STC with Asparagus was served near the end, and hung out with folks for the rest of the evening under the Lochmere dayshade. So, I heard that NotP was a good event, and besides folding all day, I had fun. A couple of notes, Badouin authorized in Schlager, Reynard was chosen as the new Lochmere Rapier Champion, Tamma/Mistress Marina made an appearance such that all three sets of Lochmere twins were present: Tamma and Tara, Cindy and her sister, and Tracy and Trina, and a new development happened concerning your local heroine, Gen, that I will tell you more about in two weeks time.

Sunday consisted of packing up, helping Q and Tara pack up their new tent and show them a few techniques, and dinner at Applebee's with lots of folks, and then home. Once home we unpacked, whew was it starting to get hot, I started laundry, Alan got new fish for the bigger, better pond, I read a little, took a long nap and did more laundry. We ended our weekend with a farewell dinner to the Robling, before he heads out to Finland for work, at Timpano's Chop House in Rockville. Oh is this place good. And, they take reservations, YAY! Sadly Rob got the Tartufo for dessert which we all had a bite of, however my one bite tunred into 4 or 5 and I couldn't sleep at 2am and got up to play with the laundry, cut my toenails, etc, before heading back to bed at 3. :( Have fun in Finland, Rob!

Then this morning my throat is all dry and scritchy, possibly due to too many antihistamines last night trying to sleep, or I'm getting sick, which I pray is not the case. The hot tea with lemon this morning didn't help much, but tasted good. My wrists are bugging me right now, possibly due to the repetative stress of Acorn folding that we joked about on Sat. And last, but not least, I think I have forgotten how to walk. I'm wearing new shoes, and while I could walk fine in them last night, in the first half hour of wearing them this morning, (which included a 20 minute commute I might add) I tripped three times. And then to top it all off, I'm typing, lots since I am wordy, on my old PC, again, since my current one is doing Scandisk at the moment, so therefore I am without my bookmarks, and on the crappier keyboard. And I have sewing do to before Crown. :(

So, the joy that is Gen's life.

Thanks to Drea/Adrianna for updating, I too like to hear tales of the kitties.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next