Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Kenny is the man!
2001-04-11 - 5:53 p.m.

Sometimes I learn exactly how blonde I am. So, I had cut out the fabric to make a tunic for P. Signy and when I went to sew it, the machine gacked up, I cleaned out the bobbin, not touching the needle I might add, and go back to sew and the bobbin is binding etc. So I take apart the bobbin case to clean out a few more pieces of thread, blow on it, scoop out all the lint, put it back together, still not working. Take it apart again, beat on things, clean out more crap, put it back together, still not working! ugghhh! So, knowing that I have had it for 3 years or more, I decide it probably needs a cleaning and tune up anyway, so I'll take it in to Sears to get repaired. I also figure that I have my other old Moore machine that I got from my crazy grandma and I should take it in too. I will be without machine for little while, but repairs are necesary.

So, I sleep in this morning, rain drops outside so comforting, it made ignoring the snooze that much easier. I wake up rush around, call in late to work and figure, I'll take advantage of this opportunity to swing the machine by Sears which doesn't open until 9:30am and drop the machine off to hopefully pick it up in a day or two. FUCK SEARS!!! They said they have to send it out, it won't be back until the 18th and they will charge me a minimum of $99. Whatever! Luckily, I have seen this sign for a Brother Sew and Vac shop also on my way into work and figure I'll drop by there and see what they are like. Leave it for a week with Sears, not in their wildest dreams. Now, the brother working at the Brother Sew and Vac was a dream come true. He says that they have a week wait for machine repair, but that he'll look at it really quick to see if it's a quick fix like bobbin tension or something. Low and behold, my needle is not in all the way and he fiddles with that and it's starts sewing like a dream. He also tweaks the bobbin tension a tiny bit and now my machine is running perfectly. I feel like such a moron, but the guy was nice as hell and didn't charge me a bit for being stupid. Since this guy was so nice, I dropped off my other machine, and he asks why I'm using the cheap kenmore when I had this laying around the house? Sheepishly I say, "I dunno, it quit working and I figured I'd buy a new one instead of fixing it." He asked me to define quit working, and I say I'm not sure anymore since it has been three years. It might just need an oiling and tension fiddling and such, I think the motor was still running fine. He says it might be a week, but I don't mind since my crappy Kennmore is back to working normally. So, I gotta give props to Kenny Harris at the Brother Sew and Vac on New Hampshire Ave. He rocks. Maybe I'll take my vacuum cleaner there that has a busted belt in it. I miss my HEPA filter light weight vac compared with Alan's old as dirt heavy vac with no HEPA filter. cough, hack... Love Kenny, he's the man, ain't nobody allowed to take him out, or they are bastards for sure.

So tonight Gen plans on snuggling down with her working sewing machine and the already cut out pieces and sew like mad. I also hope to get some laundry done so I can wash the green silk that will make a lovely apron to go with this tunic for P. Signy. It'll be the bomb! Also, hopefully I can watch part of the three musketeers videos and check out m'lady de Winter's fleur de lis mark. hee hee hee

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next