Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Gen gets a Pearl
2001-04-09 - 5:17 p.m.

Coronation was cool and hot at the same time!

Um, not too much time for a full story of the weekend, but I'll see what I can do. I posted pictures of my new dress here, thanks to the pictures from Kevin. I looked fabulous and was absolutely sweltering in the heat and high humidity. I lasted about 4 or 5 hours in that dress and then finally I couldn't take it anymore. Luckily I had packed an extra outfit, 100% linen is good, so I changed into that after the Last Court/Coronation/First Court gambet and some time spent on the field visiting friends. The gown itself isn't uncomfortable in fit, and I was happy to be able to fit back into my corset, but the fabric didn't breathe at all. A girl can only stand so much. But I got to look good for the swearing in of the Great Officers of State and for Ilse and Michael's Golden Dolphinings.

As others have stated, I was inducted into the Atlantian Order of the Pearl, for arts and sciences, specifically garb and researching, for those not in the know, during the evening court. I felt kinda bad for not staying in my new dress for that, but you really can't blame me for changing out of it. Perhaps the outfit will appear around October or so, and not any sooner unless we have an odd cold snap hit us. I also need to make a new outfit like it only out of natural materials and trim it to the nines using finger loop braided trim and what not. Eh, in due time.

Mind you, Gen was so inspired by receiving the Pearl that on Sunday when we got home, I started working on a butter yellow linen St. Louis kirtle for Princess Signy and when I went to sew it, my machine started acting up. Sadly I cleaned out lots of threads and stuff from the bobbin, but I'm not sure that I put it back together right since now it won't work at all! grr... There was a part of me that wanted to start hand-sewing the entire dress for her with linen thread, but saner thoughts prevailed and I did other little projects to occupy me until bedtime like reading Persuasion, lucetting some and reshelving and reorganizing some of the books due to recent purchases.

Now, talking to Master Fin on Sat made me sad that I couldn't donate anything to the Oak auction, but I really feel like I should. I think I will lucet up a bunch of strings to auction off, and hope that folks value hard work. That's all I could think off. I wish I had the energy and what not to make up a bunch of stuff to auction off, but I'm just not that industrious. I plan to bid on one of his stools and might just throw him a check instead as a general donation.

Okay, here is Aunti Gen's list of tips for staying cool at hot and humid events.

I think that is it. If anything comes to mind, I'll update the list.

Lastly, Gen got a new 21 inch monitor at work so now the ominous glow coming from my cube is greater. Yeah, baby!

Y'all take care now!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next