Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It's off to Coronation we go...
2001-04-06 - 3:39 p.m.

It's done!!! YAY!

My new court, instead of middle class which is what I normally do, Elizabethan outfit is complete. I have a luscious 4 yard rolled pleated skirt, fitted bodice with loopy tabs and skirting, fitted sleeves and a caul for my head, all the the same pale blue and cream colored upholstry eek brocade. I hope to have pics after this weekend, I hope to look fabulous! Thanks Kevin! I hope to make another bodice style to go with this in the future, but for now the outfit is complete. Being sick can sometimes pay off. Of course now it is supposed to be warm on Saturday. sigh, I'll suffer for style.

Also, Wendy and I completed the poles and such for the new/old dayshade. Alan has had this blue and gold 10x10 dayshade to match his 10x10 Medieval Miscellania pavilion which we no longer use much. Although it did host three peerage vigils at Pennsic last year. But the dayshade was last seen at Crown Tourny in Black Diamond that Amalric won. We set it up for the day, and during the night we forgot to drop it and high winds hit and the dayshade got a rip down one of the supporting seams. It hasn't been used since. Well Theo decided that she wanted a small dayshade, to keep out intruders, for the MoL's at Coronation and so we decided to check out how much needed to be done to this dayshade to resurect it from the dead. The rip in the canvas was luckily simply tearing out the seam with no damage to the canvas, so Wendy easily repaired that. The poles, however, are now assumed as some of the current poles of the 16x16, so we couldn't exactly use those. Green poles with a blue and gold pav? Shocking. So, Wendy and I troop off to Home Depot to buy lumber and paint and such to make new poles for the dayshade. After picking through the pile of 2x2s, we find four mostly straight poles and stack back the rejects. The Home Depot employees around thanked us for putting stuff back in it's place. I guess your average HD patron is not so kind, but I think they were a little nervous at two chippies in the lumber dept. We decide to be kind to the tall fighters and make the poles 7ft tall, so that the dayshade is not too short for men in armour. Wendy plays with power tools, she's a farm girl, I'm not worried, and I am the assitant who holds the end of the long poles and rasps and files and paints. Bubbles is good with paint, I only got a tiny blop on one of my shoes. Ask Wendy about painting naked sometime. :) But alas, the poles are complete, be sure to complement Wendy on the fabulous MoL dayshade at Crown. By the way, the nick on the center pole was Alan's fault, not ours. snicker Bright blue poles, vivid and painfully Atlantian, just missing spike. Ohhh... I should make a spike pennon, sadly not enough time....

Um, lets see, what else?

So we are off to Mike and Kirsten's tonight to crash before the coming event. We plan to leave after rush hour, not as loose planning as the Gulf Wars departure time, Wendy's head would explode, we'd like to be in Richmond by 9pm. Keep your fingers crossed that we make it in time for dinner.

And Shane informs me this morning that I am no longer on the pedestal that he once invisioned me on. pout He said that something about knowing me better makes me not so awe inspiring. Something about my pedestal is short and sitting in the sewers. :) sigh, I bet even Queen Elizabeth's ladies in waiting didn't think she was all that after seeing her through thick and thin. The more you know me, the more real I am and the more the illusion fades. But, I can still be awe inspiring, but not in a deep throating a Guinness bottle kind of way.

So, I must confess that I am in cohorts with Keilyn/Beth. You see, the new Princess of Drachenwald, Princess Signy, needs our help. She is new to the SCA, and her sweetheart, an old hat Duke (not old fat Duke, old hat!), fought for her in Crown and now she is princess and doesn't have much garb. To boot, she is a poor college student and has a Viking persona. Haven't we seen this scenario somewhere? Deja vu, man. Anyway, apparently fabric is Europe is especially expensive so outfitting her for the entire riegn is going to be an interesting feat. So, Beth and I have started a "Dress the Princess" campaign. Since Beth is coming stateside for the April BOD meeting, we are sending back a parcel of fabric to help the Drachenwaldians make clothes for their little princess. If you have any fabric to donate, it would be much appreciated. I'll be at Coronation to collect any that you can bear to part with from your current stash. She has fair skin and dark red hair, so she looks best in greens, browns and blues. To see pictures of her, click here and here. She is most grateful for the help that she has received so far, but she is to look Queen-like and needs our help to do so. From what I understand, she is planning on traveling to Pennsic this year, so I look forward to meeting her, as I hope that you do too. If you have some cloth to donate, but read this after Coronation, please feel free to e-mail me to ask for my address and mail any to me by April 16th to add it to the stash to send over. Help clothe the Princess of Drachenwald, since Mary Grace is so fabulous she doesn't need our help. Your kindness and generousity is greatly appreciated.

Th-Th-Th-That's all Folks!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next