Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Gen on Sports, like Dorf on Golf but taller
2001-04-03 - 4:53 p.m.

First off, everyone in the SCA has to go read Genie's diaryland entry today! Trust me, this story is not to be missed.

Second, why the hell does the damn facilities people have to choose today, the one day without an annoying conference full of self-important people, to paint the damn walls in our hallways? And they would choose to use these painters, who have obviously sniffed too many paint fumes and did a terrible job, and the worst cheapest toxic paint in the world on the walls. It's not like the ventilation down here in the basement needs help being poor, and making us sick. Ohmigod! The fumes were so bad that even after shutting our door, turning on an oscillating fan and taking some advil, I still had nasuea and a bad headache and tightness in my chest. I'm sensitive enough to bad paint fumes (missed a month of high school swimming since they were painting the locker rooms one year and the fumes caused my asthma to flare up big time.) so Gen went home for an extended lunch from 12-3 and took a long nap and some Advil-migraine. I only came back since we are short staffed and leaving one person to answer the phones etc. for 3 hours alone is cruel, been there done that. Stupid facilities people. They are going up against the wall from me. Especially Bobby Stahl (what an appropriate name) and Patrick the Weasel. Ugh! bastards!

Third thing, I finished the hem of my new outfit last night while watching the end of the game, so now all I have left to do is lacing holes and sleeves! YAY!

Now, I'm gonna get into the game. Kymber, you will want to stop reading here since you are so done with sports right now. I watched the tail end of the Duke vs. Arizona game last night and that was good basketball. Both teams were tough, for a good part of what I watched there was a less than 10 point difference, and sometimes down to only a 2 point difference. Ultimately Duke pulled it out and won the National Championship, gotta give them props for that. Now some may be giving me grief for rooting for Duke when I work for U of Md. First of all I work for UMUC, not UMd, so there's that. Also, contrary to my parents who are big UNC fans, I am a Duke fan at heart. Have been since my school days when they went to the Final Four with Christian Laetner on the team. This was admittedly a while ago, but as a teenage girl, I had fantasies about him, and such grew my fondness for Duke. Hell I would have gone to Duke if A) my parents were wealthy, B)I was smart enough to get in and get a scholarship, and C) if I had not seen the fine campus at Virginia Tech fall of my senior year in HS. So, YAY Duke!

But I also gotta say that I'm weird when it comes to sport teams. I don't follow anything closely enough to know any stats, etc. I go with loyalties. I root for Virginia Tech without a question, 'cause that's where I went. I root for many of the NC teams in this order: Duke, UNC and NC State. NC State used to have a rockin' football team, but this is years ago, and all three have had great basketball teams in the past. In pro football, sheesh, I pay even less attention. I used to be a Broncos fan, but that is long past and now I'm either a redskins or Ravens fan. Ravens by far have the coolest colors and mascot, but that's a bit off topic. In Hockey, which is a new sport to me since I grew up in NC, ice is such a relative thing. I root for the Caps, but I also dig the Pens since it was Mel who introduced me to hockey and how fun it is. (Yes, I did root for the Pens the first Hockey game I saw live, but I'm better now.) But I'm also a little weirder in that I cheer for the team who beats my team in playoffs to win. For example, in the Stanley Cup playoff last year, the Pens took the Caps out of the playoffs so I rooted for them until they were knocked out. My theory being that I want the team that beat my team, such as it is, to win, because then we lost to the winners. Most folks seem to root for anyone playing against the guys that knocked them out since they are bitter or something. I guess I'm just a freak. Yay, Duke won! (Makes the Rags happy too!) It looks like the Pens will face the Caps in the playoffs this year too, which should be good games. I'm looking forward to going to them since I didn't make it to any games during the season. sigh, real life. And that's Gen on sports.

I guess I should finish up my taxes and mail that out tonight. Poor Christian... I bet the Kingdom Exchequer's life is hell right now too.

Then this evening Wendy and I will be using power tools and the sewing machine to repair the old blue and gold dayshade, and make new poles for it. Kevin will be so jealous of its blue and goldness. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next