Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Bob's 50th b'day party
2001-04-02 - Time is irrelevant

Best Quote of Monday: "Bob, you're turning 50 again this weekend, right?" -Wayne

So, Bob's 50th Birthday Party was on Saturday night, and man oh man was it a good time.

Mike and Kirsten came up on Sat. afternoon to have lunch and hang out before going to the party. We went to Niwano Hana in Rockville for sushi/sashimi for lunch and then poked around the Oriental Market for a while. M&K picked up a bunch of non-perishables from the market and then found a great present for Bob. Something about ginseng and lover tonic or something. It was a great gag present to go with the coins from 1951 that we picked up in one of the antique places in Savage Mills. We also looked at this jewelry place there and bought tons from this book place that had Dover books 50% off and many other books 70% off. Wow! I filled up a big bag, but Mike and Kirsten got a box full of books.

We decide that we are fashionably late enough and head to the party around 6, and it had started to take off around then. Now, if you have never been to Bob and Laura's place, it is a cute snug little apt. in Jessup, MD and we had around 30 folks crammed into this place. Since it is Bob and Laura, most people were either wearing black or hawaiian shirts. It was great.

How do I gently put this? There was lots of alcohol at the party. Lots of booze. The night started out with a Knight couch for Gen, that denegrated to a chick surround sound system for Wayne, that denegrated to lots of making out. We watched some Virginia Tourism commercials for Kirsten to critique, but I think it was too far into the party and I don't think she got any good comments, but we shall see. All I remember about this was that the Hedge Maze one needs better costuming for Colonial Williamsburg stuff. The lady's dress and hair was horrible. And there was another History one that set Laura off since it said "There is no history, more important than your own." Something about calling us egocentric american bastards. :) Then there was the cake and extra tub of icing for those who only wanted cake for the icing, and the opening of Bob's presents. He was shocked that he didn't get any packages of Depends. Instead he got more hawaiian shirts and lots more booze.

Then the drunken debauchery started in real good. Did I mention there was alcohol? Some folks were dragged home early since they got too drunk too quick and could barely walk. Some folks left early since it wasn't their kind of party, or maybe they were offended a bit at the activities going on. Let's just say that there was a lot of kissing going on, and while no one was entirely gay, it wasn't restricted to male/female interaction only. I think most of the guys had as much fun watching as the girls had -ahem- interacting. And, of course since it was Bob's birthday after all, he got ganged up on a bit. :) I don't think he minded at all.

There was also some smoking, of clove cigarettes only, on the balcony and I think my lungs hate me right now. Eh, I'll heal. The balcony was also the only place to cool down, as the apartment was pretty warm. There is a reason I wore only my new Powerpuff t-shirt that says "Sugar, Spice, and Everything nice!" It was a bit snug, but that's okay, and no one else seemed to mind either. It's amazing that more clothes didn't get peeled off. ;) For more details of the party, you will have to ply someone else who was in attendance, or buy me something really cool, and you can see the pictures.

Gen drank hard and fast at the beginning of the party so that she could sober up sooner and drive home. This was a good thing since Alan had been drinking straight gin, as far as I could tell, all night and Mike and Kirsten didn't know the way for sure. We got home and in bed in time to change the clocks over from 2am to 3am.

Sunday, Mike and Kirsten needed to leave pretty early to get home and accomplish some stuff, so for the rest of the day, Alan slept off his hangover and Gen proudly watched home improvement shows and movies and finished much of the hand sewing on her new elizabethan to hopefully have done for Coronation this weekend. I finished all the hand sewing on the bodice except the lacing up the back, pinned the hem and started on it. All I have left is to finish the hem, do lacing on the bodice and hopefully get to sleeves. Whoohooo!!!

Ah, well, that was my weekend, and Wayne, Shane and I have tried really hard to make everyone's head explode talking of the exploits of the party. The pictures are grand, but aren't going to be posted to any websites that I know of.

I hope...

Oh, and Happy Birthday to my Tatoo! Today is the seventh birthday of my tatoo. If you haven't seen it, ask me sometime ;)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next