Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

C-c-c-changes...
2001-03-28 - 3:49 p.m.

Helloooooo Nurse!!!

Well, if you hadn't already noticed, I kinda changed the look and feel of this diary. I admit that I stole the general idea from the University of Atlantia site designed and maintianed by the lovely and talented Lady Pavla. But it seems to work so well here that I might use it on my home pages, choices, choices... Tell me what you think and drop a little note in the Guestbook while you are at it. Please?

Now, some of you may wonder what I have been doing with my time since Gulf Wars. Well, obviously I have been writting my epic Gulf Wars Saga: Part One, Part Two and Part Three. That took a good chunk of my time at work, which could be why I'm still a bit behind in work e-mail, but no big. I also had Mon, Tues and Wed off after Gulf Wars, so I slept late, read Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice since I never had to read it in school, I took long hot baths, did eleven loads of laundry, cleaned up the house a bit, had lunch with the Angel of Death, made a run to Costco and the grocery store to stock back up on essentialls, and stuff like that. Amazingly I didn't vege in front of the TV like I am often wont to do. I was very proud of myself for that.

Last weekend was lots of fun too. We had dinner on Friday with Wendy and Rob at the Blue Ox Cafe and we got to point out to them the booth Alan proposed to me in. Then we slept in on Saturday and watched looney tunes while Alan cooked breakfast, and bummed around the house all day, cleaning up a little in the kitchen my pile of mail and some of my sewing room since Wen and Mel were supposed to come sew on Sat. night. Instead we opted for Sunday for a sewing session and ended up all going to dinner at Harry's, good ole stand by Harry's, and hanging out. We had to let Wendy bitch about silly fighter boys calling her from the list field at the St. Paddy's Day Bloodbath to check the membership list, etc. so they could fight that day. Mind you it wouldn't kill these guys to take five minutes before the event to make sure they had all their stuff straight, but then they wouldn't be our cute little dumbassed fighters, now would they. Now if any of you think that calling the KMoL on a Saturday morning from the field is a good idea you are sorely mistaken. She is complying, but she is not kind, nor should she be, and I wouldn't gamble getting to fight one day on hoping that the KMoL is still snuggly in bed on a Sat. morning. Five minutes before the event to make sure you have your cards... sigh... and then she takes it out on her friends...

So then Sunday comes around and Gen wakes up in time to watch home improvement shows on TLC. God, I am so addicted to Hometime and Trading Spaces. Not a big fan of Bob Villa, I don't care what others think. He just seems to annoy the piss out of the crew. After Trading Spaces I finish cleaning the sewing/dining room so that it looks halfway decent. It had the remains of projects from before Gulf Wars and even before Ymir. Sad, but true. I'm not terribly neat, but at least the place isn't filthy dirty, just cluttered. Eventually Mel comes over and we work on a pattern for an Italian Ren for her to wear for the Night on the Piazza event in a month. There is a small part of me that is distressed that the dress we are working on is dated 1465 to 1480 and the date of the event is 1560. Yes, I am disturbed at being 100 years out of fashion. Mel, of course, does not care as long as it is comfy. We also discover small wonderments like that our ribcage measurement differs only by like an inch. :) After a good bit of time, some pattern fitting, and watching much of the PPG marathon on the Cartoon Network and seeing Bubbles win the popularity contest, Wendy comes over with MoL packets for us to stuff. Oh Joy! By this time we had popped in the tapes of the Pride and Prejudice miniseries and used them as background noise, and "Ohhh, look at Darcy!" distractions while we collated and stuffed these packets to send out to all the MoL's about the law changes and new forms effective May 1st regarding pay to play. She also included a print out of the FAQ for Sanook and our Rocky Run crayon drawing and a note for John. I just love being Wendy's friend, otherwise, look at all the fun I would be missing. We ordered chinese food to satiate us for dinner and finish up with everything (Mel's dress, packet stuffing and dinner) around 11pm and everyone went home and I went to bed. Now some of you, not many I'm sure, may be wondering where Alan was during this mess on Sunday? Well, he's not a fan of paperwork and he hates Jane Austen, so if you guessed that he removed himself from the room you would be correct. Sadly he was asleep most of the time trying to get over an annoying sinus infection, which while I am sorry he felt bad, and to some extent still does, I am glad he didn't have to suffer through any of the P&P or get roped into packet stuffing. Hopefully he is feeling well enough to go to fighter practice tonight.

So, that was my weekend, eating out, cleaning, bumming around, sewing and packet stuffin'. More fun that one human should be allowed in a weekend. sigh. At least I didn't have to travel somewhere, I'm done with road trips, at least until Coronation. :)

So, Mel informs us that on short notice she gets to go to Bangkok for work for a month. Mind you she has only been back in the states for two weeks, but who's counting? This also means that she doesn't have to worry about finishing her Italian Ren in time for Night on the Piazza, since she is going to miss the event entirely. sigh. It must be an interesting life, she hasn't even given us our presents from Samoa yet. pout She almost had the chance to go to Finland and stop and see Beth in London for a bit, but that didn't pan out. Exciting life, I wonder if it gets old? I know four months in China and three in Korea were not the best of times, but thanks to this job she has seen Paris, Bejing, Honduras, parts of Mexico, Brussels, Oslo, and Samoa. Sometimes I envy her, sometimes I don't. Oh well, off to Bangkok, oriental city... damn, now I have the song from Chess running through my head...

Peace!

AMI/TGB/Gen

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next