Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Beware: Big Words!
2001-03-01 - 16:27:49

Okay, so my bud in the next cube over sent me this link: http://www.mensa.org/workout.html for the Mensa Workout, a little pre-test for the Mensa test. Dude this shit makes my brain hurt, but I got 22 of 30 right, and they say that is good. I hated all the word questions. What word comes before these three words to make new words. I'm no good at that. Give me mathematical trends any day. I even did a small bit of geometry to figure out the dividing walls we'll be using in Kevin's tent for Gulf Wars. We need four 9ft long walls and two 6 ft. long walls to divide it into three separate living quarters and a common area. :)

Oh that note, here's the Word of the Day. Okay, so it's not a daily thing, but still...

Banality- from the adjective banal: lacking originality, freshness or novelty : TRITE syn INSIPID
Webster says it stems from the middle french for compulsory feudal service, possessed in common, commonplace. Interesting word. Try using it in a sentance.

The Wendy word that I failed to post on Tuesday was used on Wayne after lunch at Fridays.

laconic- adj using or involving the use of a minimum of words : consise to the point of seeming rude or mysterious syn CONSISE
Strangely enough this word is so Wayne. He's a minimum word user, unless they are explicatives and he is driving. :)

Now, my great co-worker Courtnay comes up and gives me another great word. I try explaining Wendy's vocabulary and she says, "Oh so she's sesquipedalian." She's a what!?!? Here we go again:

sesquipedalian-ses-kwe-pe-dal-yen adj. 1: having many syllables: LONG 2: given to or characterized by the use of long words

Geez, now my 22 doesn't sound so impressive.

So, industrious Gen continued last night. I went to the chiropracter which is always a good thing. Then I went to pick up an RX at the pharmacy as well as some posterboard and markers. I made a sign for the Troll table this Saturday explaining that the proceeds from the donations to KA&SFest will be evenly split between the Oak and the Royal Travel Fund I think I did a pretty good job if I must say so myself..., and I finished all the machine sewing and most of the hand sewing on the chemise for this weekend. YAY! All while making a steak for dinner and watching bad TV on Fox including the end of Temptation Island. Who ever heard of reality programming with happy endings?? It was so bizarre, the experience really brought us closer together... Whatever, thank god it is over. Luckily Alan went to fighter practice so he didn't have to be subjected to any of that nonsense.

Tonight is dinner with Wen and hopefully Rob, giving her the paperwork for Alan's new fighter card and hanging out at Last Chance. Alan is having dinner with Wayne's Katie/Kim before Last Chance tonight. I think it is great that they have their dates occasionally. It is good to get her out a social, what a great joy for us all, and I think sometimes she needs companions that speak in sentences. Wayne can be laconic as we have just reviewed, and Marcus isn't quite up to conversation yet at two and a half. Besides her and Alan have a mutual admiration society between the two of them and it works well for them both.

So what is still left to do? I still need to work on those damn dividing walls for Kevin's tent for Gulf Wars, which means fabric shopping, diving into the sale bins, cause I need 20 to 25 yards and I do not want to spend more than $40 on this. I would also like to futz with some of my garb before the war, like take in my middle eastern since I lost weight, make another set of pants for it, perhaps a new underdress, and maybe some plain stuff for Alan too. We shall see how productive I become over the next week, since I won't get anything accomplished tonight. sigh. I guess the break for socializing is a good one.

I think I've rambled enough for today. Thanks Cesca for checking out my homepage. If you want any help with any garb, just let me know. I still have a few free weekends after Gulf Wars. :)

Oh, and Wendy finally let the Pay to Play FAQ go live, so anyone who has questions about the removal of Pay to Play, or knows someone who has questions, and if they don't have web access print it off and give it to them, just inform everyone of this page: http://mol.atlantia.sca.org/faq.html Even if you don't fight, you might want to read it for kicks. Wendy is a very entertaining writer.

Y'all take care now, y'hear?

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next