Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

snow? snow!!!
2001-02-23 - 16:52:05

It's snowing!!!! We have to go home!!!!

Ah... the madness that is southern drivers in inclement weather. The University completely freaked out and closed down at 1pm on Thursday and sent us all home. Not that I'm complaining, because I got to sip tasty coffee and watch back episodes of Buffy and Angel and take a nap. Ahhhhh...

So, we have this cute little friend that is easily spooked. I love her, but... So she is driving her cute little sports car and looses control spinning, 270 degrees through a busy intersection on her way home. So, she's spooked and shaking and calling Alan at home from her cell while she is sitting in our driveway. Alan rushes home from work to let her into our place and sit her down on the couch and leave her a key to lock up should she wish to leave and leaves me a message on my work voice mail letting me know that she's there. Luckily since we were let out early I make my way home, which was not bad at all, but then again it is fairly straight and I don't have to deal with the beltway. I get home and she has taken a nap on the couch, so she is a little better and I make her some hot tea and we sit and chat until her husband comes to pick her up. Ah, my poor sweet easily startled friends. She's much better now, but her cute little car was still in our driveway when I left for work this morning. :)

So, the hardest thing about coming into work today was the cleaning off of the car. I so want a garage for my vehicle whatever it may happen to be. I hate scraping ice and frost and snow off the car. grrr... bunch of spoiled people with garages. I'm such a girl sometimes...

So this weekend I have no plans. Ah... that sounds so good. I hope to get some sewing done and relaxing and hanging out and watching movies, but I have no plans... What a luxury. I really need to cut back to two events a month at most. There are other things in the world to do. Well March should start the two events a month off with a bang. March has KA&SFest and Gulf Wars. April is Coronation and Night on the Piazza. May is busy with Crown, Mousehole, and Twenty Year. And my sister laughs when I plan stuff out months in advance. :)

I can't wait 'til the beta pattern comes in that I am suppossed to test. That will be a fun diversion, but looks like I won't get to it until after Gulf Wars at this point. There is this wonderful woman, Margo Anderson, who is making her dreams come true and making a pattern for an entire Elizabethan Lady's Wardrobe. This will include everything from the smock and corset to hats and sleeve variations. It will be really cool, and I don't use patterns. So I got chosen as the betatester for the doublet bodice in hopes that I can help and play with the pattern a bit of a part of elizabethan clothing I have yet to explore. I'm jazzed. Sadly the poor lady has had issues with the printer plotting mechanism of the program she's using so finally she's folding and mailing out the beta test patterns. YAY!

Oh another note there is this guy in the SCA who has been bugging me lately and getting on my nerves. I am comforted in knowing that I am not the only one who is irritated by him. I hope he doesn't read this. The sad thing is that he honestly is trying to be helpful, but it ends up coming across as trying to make himself important. And even worse, he's dating a really cool lady, so we have to take into account her feelings and such and not get her involved, and yet could she talk to him... And how do you tell a friend that she's dating an irritating person? oh, it's maddening! Enough on that, he's just irritating. There have certainly been worse things to be in this world. I never should have posted to the A-list. It only brings trouble. Might as well stand up during a battle and wave to the other side. sheesh...

One more hour to go. Maybe I'll take off early. Nothing is happening and hey, that's what the 24 hour pager is for. Ah, the deadence of the upcoming weekend. Hope you all have a good one. Keep working on planning the revolution Chris. Byram, don't travel and fight if you are broken. That's just about dumb and then you aren't any use to anyone afterwards. Everyone else, take care and have a good weekend.

Peace!

Oh yeah, Word of the Day! I've been meaning to post this one since Sunday.

moue- 'mue n (1850) : a little grimace : POUT
This is another Wendy inspired word. It is pronouced "moo" like the sound a cow makes. I shit you not. Taken from Middle French or something, go fig. It's a great word that means to wrinkle your nose at or stick your lower lip out. Let me tell you, I am a champion at the moue. Try it on your friends. Use it in a sentance. Don't moue at me, the dishes need cleaning! Great word! Moue --- mooooooo!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next