Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

word of the day: incorrigible
2001-02-16 - 17:36:52

Nothing much to talk about today. I'm awake, I came to work, blah blah blah.

I am looking forward to tomorrow though. Alan and Roland are heading down to a Trayned Bandes workshop at Bob and Laura's new property south of Palmyra, VA. While the boys will only be daytripping it, I have a fun day with the girls planned. Hopefully Wendy, Jake, Gwen, Kymber, Shannon, Chris/Brigidh-of-the-really-big-hats and some others will drop by after noon on Sat and we will spend a fun girls day or stitch and bitch, drinking, maybe a shopping excursion to G-Street since they are having a sale, and maybe watch a movie or something. I am so looking forward to hanging with my Peeps all day! I only wish my Bera could be there. (sad clown face) *<]:-(

Wendy is planning some food for din din, and if we want to go out, they we can, it'll freeze. I love the perrogative to make up my own mind, such a GIRL!!! We'll also have snacks and stuff. Wendy mentioned something about chocolate covered espresso beans to super charge the Kymber. We'll have to see if this is a good idea, or Darwinian like the rocket car tale...

Now reverting a few years, the word of the day is incorrigible. Quoth the Webster's:

incorrigible- adj. incapable of being corrected of ammended: as a(1) Not reformable: DEPRAVED (2):DELINQUENT b: not manageable: UNRULY c: UNALTERABLE, INVETERATE

When I was in my senior year of High School (this is going back a ways...) I was helping a friend with word flash cards for one of these silly standardized tests. When incorrigible appeared in the stack, I so loved the meaning that I had to keep it. For years I carried this flash card in my wallet with the word and definition. I'm still not sure why. Perhaps to remind me to occasionally be unmanageable and be myself. On a deeper meaning to me, not to be bent by others expectations and demands. I realize that this is streatching the definition of the word, but it had meaning for me, and still does. Mind you this was also the stage in my life where I wore combat boots, freaky tights of various types, short jean shorts, and a thrift store blazer most of the year.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next