Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Ymir Ymir Ymir Ymir Ymir...
2001-02-12 - 17:23:12

Now upon the field...

I gotta say, that I had so much fun this Ymir heralding one of the fields for the double elim tourney. I don't get to do the yelling thing much, but they let me on Saturday. James took one field and I did the other, letting Emma have it for a short while when I got food, etc. Eogan let me know that if I got tired, he'd be glad to relieve me of my duty, and I told him that I may not realize if I am tired or not, so if I sound bad, please let me know. I can only guess that I sounded fine, since he never came back over. Either that or I sounded like crap, but he felt shy about telling me. Oh well. I had fun. I only get to yell so often since there are other folks who are better, or get chosen more. I've only really been able to field herald at one event when I was newish and they needed someone, and at the Emerald Joust held on Ft. Lee that I got goobed and told the ranking system and that a baron is called "Your Excellecy"... luckily for that guy, I, unlike Galmr, tolerate fools to an extent. :)

The fact that I found some occupation also got me out of other duties. tee hee hee... Adriana Broussard asked me something about A&S judging and Seonaid talking to me, and Brigit also mentioned the Roll of Arms book in the great hall. Luckily I got out of dealing with those since I had something to do, which I wouldn't had escaped if I was just sitting and chatting. I don't even recall what A&S stuff went on. eh, I get so jaded sometimes. Bad GOof, bad! Eh, poor Corwyn met with all the great officers before he even got into garb on Sat, the poor boy. Luckily we hashed out stuff for Curia which made me feel better. Uncertainty can be exciting, or it can be scary, depends on your point of view.

I also was a real bum during court not paying attention. sad thing is I think the world of Rosalind and love peerage ceremonies, but still, was not of a mindset to sit patiently and watch. I was amussed when during the baronial court, members of St. Aiden's group sat around like a bunch of cute trained monkeys saying "Where's Andrew?" for a while. Finally I looked at one and asked "Is he necessary?" After a nod, Bera and I took off running all over Camp Kanata in search of cute Andrew. Not on the field, not in the hall, what about the bath house, damn Kanata is large, there is his car, he's still on site.. hey, cute little white head in the car's drivers seat... aw, he's talking to Sorcha on the phone. "Andrew, sweetie! Kevin needs you, he's at court!" "Why does kevin need me?" "Dude, I don't know, he just said he did..." "Okay, bye honey, I love you..." "Let's go!" small talk, rush and trip through brush, we approach the pavilion where court is, he's so cute and blissfully unawares... Alan is standing at the back of court so he tells Andrew to just go directly in, pointing to the ailse for court. Hee hee, Andrew runs in and slides in on his patents leaving a 15ft skid! They induct him into the Order of St. Aiden then and there, he was so caught aback. It was great, perfect surprise technique. Bera and I just sat back and had the Perfect Timing, Damn we're good! faces on. :) Afterwards there were hugs aplenty! Group hug of me, Andrew and Bera. We three have roomate history, gosh I miss them both, and Sorcha...

So, Congrats to Andrew, Colin and Wulfic, new membrs of St. Aiden's

Then court is over and we reach the stage where you have 10 people standing around deciding where to eat and what's available quagmire that only leads to madness. So we say, meet at the Chinese place next to the Food Lion, in about 30-45 minutes. No meeting somewhere and then going somewhere else, executive decision, meet and eat. So we go back to hotel, change, go to restaurant, eat, hang out with friends, Byram's crew of 12 or so comes in and we tell them to join us in taking over the little party room in the place and Galmr's bunch of clowns rounds out the final bit so that I think only 1 seat was left empty. The food was hot and kicked ass! and we all were fed and happy. I also got to yell at Cesca for starting this Diaryland fad... tee hee, Love ya babe

After much disrupting the world of this little chinese place, we all went our separate ways, oh no, Journey song comes to mind, and after many hugs went back to the hotel for hanging out and such. I went for a soda and came back to find the room populated with some guests and most of the folks drank bourbon and chatted until 1am until we all went Kaput with the impending doom of Curia over our heads.

So it is decided that one of the boys will drive us to curia in the morning, drop us off and drive back to do the sleep later, shower, and check out of the hotel thing on Sunday. Wen and I are up and showered and ready to go and are onsite shortly after 8 so that we can track down Corwyn and TRM's to double check on the plan for Pay to Play removal and calendar changes. No one seemed to bat much of and eye at either and curia was mostly painless and over quickly. The thing that incited the most discussion was the changing of the Kingdom Marshall's title to no longer be Earl Marshall since that implies some kind of rank.. oh dear, petty corporate... Then we just sat around and chatted and played with posibilities for new MoL heraldry since the current one is despised by all.... until the boys came back to pick us up and take us on our way back up to the frozen north. :)

The drive was uneventful, I took a two hour nap when we got back, and then a long bath trying out the Aveeno bath stuff. Not bad on the whole, except that I can't soak my problem areas without a snorkel. oh well..

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next