Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Happy Birthday Mel!!!
2001-02-09 - 14:09:45

Happy Birthday to Mel!
Happy Birthday to Mel!
Happy Birthday Dear Meeeelllll!!
Happy Birthday to Mel!

Uh, if you hadn't guessed, today is Mel's birthday. You'll have to ask her how old she is, I'm not tellin'. But she has the heart of a teenager! Right? We had a lovely lunch out at Bennigan's with Rob, Wen, Wayne and Shane, no singing cause we didn't want to get kicked out, but there was an Eeoyre doll with a birthday hat on. :)

So, I'm in charge today. Muhahahahha! The big director is in, but only for meetings and then gone. His daughter was born recently, so he's spending most of his time at home, wisely. The head of the developers along with two of the staff of three are gone today. My manager is in Tahoe and one other coworker is tending to his wife who burnt herself. So, of our normal staff of 11 we have 5 here today. Yay! I'll try not to let the power go to my head. yeah, what power?

So there is the small part of me that feels like my praise of Anton might be misunderstood. I wasn't sucking up, cause lord knows Anton doesn't tolerate fools and suck ups. And I wasn't trying to get on the good side of the checky squires or former squires, cause they all love me anyway, right guys? Right? It was just that I feel he is misunderstood, especially in this neck of the woods. And usually if you look at the decisions he makes, they are all for the good of others, even if they piss folks off.

It was actually amussing shortly after Anton won spring Crown, that those petty few who had problems with Emer being a landed baroness and princess at the same time, or in general question Anton's decisions, expressed their doubts to me. They must have pegged me for a fellow snobby northerner, forgetting that my home town is Greensboro, N.C. Perhaps I blend too well. :) I tried to quietly explain that I cannot guess Anton's nor Emer's decisions, as each person's decisions are their own. Emer may not be like any other queens we have had so far, but there is a beauty to her individuality, and she has and is doing a great job. Some questioned the trauma in Anton's personal life, and how could he dare fight. Screw them, everything has worked out for the best, and he must have had the support of others or it couldn't have worked. Maybe they were just jealous that they'd never be Crowns of this fine kingdom. Some said that it was irresponsible for her as a landed baroness to neglect her barony and be princess and queen. The way I see it, Sacred Stone has had the opportunity to shine. Sacred Stone for once gets to be first in the Baronial OP since their baroness is Queen. How cool is that? I don't see that the group is suffering at all. Anton and Emer have been a joy and priveledge to work with. Enough on this subject. I like the idea of the Fans of Anton support group for the northern region. tee hee hee, thanks Kevin.

Now it is off to completing the work day and packing and shipping out to Ymir. I was a good girl and packed most of my stuff this morning. I was gonna make a new viking apron to wear this weekend instead of my wool one, but oh well. The slug in me took over last night and while the pieces are cut out, not a stitch is sewn. Oh yeah, and I still need to write a curia report. Nothing to report since the last curia. Sounds good to me. Of course we pick the one Ymir with good weather to hotel. Eh, I'm a wimp. 60 degrees warm and partly cloudy for tomorrow in Wake Forest, NC. Sounds like a dream to me. Maybe my wool apron won't be too warm, since I like 75 degree weather anyway. :) I have also packed up a scrap of the wool to send off to a friend so she can be certain if she wants to buy the rest off me or not. I refuse to sew with it anymore.

Damn, I am so longwinded. Wayne and Shane were surprised that my cell phone bill is often only 20-30 bucks a month, and our long distance calls aren't horrendous. I do all my talking in person, thankyouverymuch!

Peace!

Genevieve d'Longwinded

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next