Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Word of the day: miasma
2001-02-06 - 14:47:04

Hey Christian! When the revolution comes, can we get rid of all the smelly heralds?

Okay, so you know you've signed up for the wrong list when you get 30 messages a day and don't keep any of them. Y'see I was foolish enough to give my e-mail address to Caitlin when I got my GD. I was flattered, I was young and impetuous, I wanted to make a difference. Alan and Wayne were smart enough to NOT give their e-mail addresses to Caitlin, cause this GD list is just about crazy sometimes. And the worst of the lot is the heralds, specifically the smelly ones, because for some unknown reason it is the smelly unwashed masses of heralds that don't give two hoots to personal hygiene that are the most pedantic people on the planet. So we talk about folks who deserve the GD. This is no BIG secret that is being let loose, trust me. We talk about the works they have done to educate the others in the crowd. But then the heralds have to jump in and say their registered name is such and such, and the OP says such and such, and like 20 messages on someone's past name and has it been updated in the OP and I'm close to going postal on some of these morons. And it is always the heralds, I swear...

Was I the only one who noticed the miasma while walking down the hallway to classes from the registration room at UofA? As Webster's says:

miasma- n. 1. a vaporous exhalation formerly believed to cause disease also: a heavy vaporous emanation or atmosphere 2. an influence or atmosphere that tends to deplete or corrupt also: an atmosphere that obscures : FOG
Or as Wendy says: "A smell that clings."
Just walking down that hallway, you could smell the consult table upon approach and had to hold your breath while passing. It was unbearable for those of us with sensitive noses. I'm kinda wishing I hadn't used my medicine to clear my sinuses before UofA. sigh.

And now to those who are heralds, or like certain heralds, I'm not saying all heralds are stinky, but we have to face the facts that the majority of the smelly folks are heralds. That's all. It's like from Mullets Galore all dyke-mullets are fe-mullets, but not all fe-mullets are dyke-mullets. I personally love heralding on the court and on the field. I occasionally come up with cool heraldic designs and badges and know the basic rules of the heraldic road, but no way on god's green earth could you convince me to become a warranted herald because then I might have to join the College or Heralds and go to herald meetings at Unevent, etc. Rhiannon was cool. I'll miss her as Triton, but I'm sure Micheal will do fine. I haven't gotten close enough to know if he practices personal hygiene or not. I think poor Rhiannon tried desperately to make the heralds non-gooby and non-smelly by being cool herself, but she would have had to hold the office for more than 4 years and that would have cost the poor girl her sanity. enough about heralds...

I've actually been working today, ever since I came in. Busy stuff, and we found out how little we know about Macs and how much we need to learn. I need to work on the Admin training because we have too many morons in this university on our system with Admin access who don't have a clue. I also need to update the Faculty training and make a new student training. This is the fun part of my job that doesn't involve answering the phones or telling someone politely over e-mail that they should box up their computer and go back into the mists with the other gorillas.

Remember children, the word of the day is miasma, a smell that clings. Be sure to use it in a sentance. And for those of you who think I am randomly overeducated, I must conceed to Blossom.. er .. Theodora, who is far more over educated than I and taught us about it long time ago, but this weekend was the best use of the word I've seen in a long time...

Take Care children!
we'll see you at Anti-Gen's Diaryland tomorrow...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next