Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Angel is the Centerfold!
2001-02-05 - 981425761

Jenny, I've got your number... I need to make you mine... Jenny, don't change your number, 867-5309, 867-5309...

Ah, addictive bad 80's music. I love this song. Almost as good as Centerfold.

I had a good weekend. Life does not suck.

So after the aforementioned testing hell, I went out to Happy Hour with some co-workers. I had two rum and diet coke drinks while bitching and complaining about the madness that had happened. On my way out to HH, I stopped by our Computer Support Desk and asked them about their test results. Oh dear, they went through the same hell we did, only they found it out too late. yikes! They were not thrilled. Can't say I blame them. So 6:30 rolls around and I have to bolt from HH to make it to the chiropractor in time before he closes. I, of course, did not make it in time, but called to tell them I'd be late, and they were very accomodating. Then I swung by the grocery store to pick up a few items to arrive home only 10 minutes before our wonderful house guests did.

Mike, Kirsten and Sue arrive all in their original pieces, and we go out to dinner at this great place called the Blue Ox Cafe. The food is absolutely slammin' and a great atmosphere too. We all eat our fill, go home and sit up chatting into wee hours until it was pointed out that we were in Sue's bedroom (the living room) and some of us needed to get up early the next day.

Saturday, we girls wake up and get ready and I drive Sue and Kirsten to the site to set up the registration table. Finding everything was a bit difficult but soon we were all set up and ready to go and start another busy University day. Poor Sue worked the registration table all day, and I think Kirsten had planned to take classes, but ended up visiting with friends all day instead. A couple of things that bugged me about the University set up was, first of all, a distinct lack of signs; pointing to registration, restrooms, maps in the hallways, it was rather labyrinthine site, but blessedly only on one floor. Also I'm not used to merchants at a University, it's just not right! And the feast and dancing afterwards was great for some folks, but we ended up skipping it. As someone so aptly put it "That autocrat looks good on paper..." As Kurt says: It's true, it's true.

So I took three classes and taught three classes. Remind me not to teach three classes in one UofA again. It was just too silly. My MoAS Training went. Hey, there is only so much I can do to make it exciting. Maybe like Theo does with the MoL training, I should set up the table like you would for a competition. Eh, then I'd never get thru it all. I think the Retainer 101 class went pretty well. I didn't want it to be too organized, just helpful hints. Rules of the Road. It was kinda weird that HRH Mary Grace was there as well as Count Ragnarr ah ah ah!, Earl Amalric, and a couple of landed baronage. Maybe they hoped to take some info back to their retainers. I heard that Shemp thought it was how to take care of your retainers. Maybe I heard that wrong... Cesca sat in on it and was well behaved for a change. :) On the whole, I think it went well. Alan co-taught it with me, or rather added in his opinion and thoughts when the time was right and helped answer some questions. I think on the whole it worked out beautifully. Now we got Theo thinking about co-teaching a class with Roland about armour through the ages or something... Hee hee hee... And finally I taught my Middle Class Italian Ren Gown class again. I think it went pretty well, and hopefully I inspired a few folks to try something new. One lady pointed out something in one of the pictures about the underdress that I had never noticed. It has set me on to working further on the research for fleshing out the entire outfit. Thanks to her! Whoever she is!

The classes I took were Muireann's Early Tudor Clothing class which was good, but I don't think she should teach first thing in the morning. Sweetie, I think you need time to recover from dressing in the morning before you start teaching a class. I think it would be easier on you. On the whole it was very facinating. Maybe Tudor one of these days... Then was Kymber's Tailored Stockings class. Whoohooo! I could now make my own stockings! Life is good. Luckily Kyna is a very engaging teacher and gets the audience into the class, even if it involved sacrificing her cheese cubes. I got to start my MCIR class with "For those who took Kymber's class on stockings, I will not be doing any kind of aerobics, yoga or ballet during this class. So sorry to disappoint you..." Last but certainly not least was a class on 16th cent Persian women's clothing taught by Jessamyn's friend Louise. She was knowledgable and great, but obviously nervous for her first time teaching. Poor girl, she really was fantastic if an inch from shaking in place. :) God, I love University! I always come away wanting to try ten new things, now now now!

The a large and ameba like group went out to the 94th Aerosquadron to eat. The group turned amebo like after I started drawing out the map and others looked and it and joined. sigh. me have steep learning curve. The restaurant was full, so they said they could accomadate us in the bar. So we went to the bar, took over three large round tables and figured this might not work. The manager came over and said that he would try to get someone to wait on us, but they are short staffed and it may take some time. Eh, we are patient. The result of the evening is that we didn't complete our meal until 4 hours after we arrived, but we had great company and was really close to the bar, and otherwise undisturbed, so this was a good thing! Our waiter ended up being the newish bartender guy who had never waited tables, but after a bit of mistakes he got it right. One person in the crowd asked me why I chose this place, and I told them they could leave if they didn't like it. Everyone seemed to have a good time and no one starved, so I can't complain. That and Laura is really funny when drunk. :) I bet they are having a blast on the cruise.

The next morning I woke up late and everyone else was already showered, eating, etc. but hey, Alan was up to entertain. I made it to the MoL Paperwork party a little late after Mike and Kirsten left, but ended up having fun just the same. And I took the MoL class again so now I'm an actual trained MoL instead of just another one with a warrant who has no clue. Kevin took the class with me and asked if he could be an MoL At-XLarge instead of At-Large. :) Theo said sure, but only if he got a note from Sue that he had taken and passed the "How not to hurt Colin" class. And a great time was had by all.

It was so good to see Kirsten happy and smiling this weekend and her new dress looked faboo. I think this break/step back from the SCA is good for her. She's also learning to say "No", something we could all stand to learn. She's the greatest and I'm so glad she's my friend.

Jenny, Jenny, who can I turn to? I need something I can hold onto... I found your name and number on the wall...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next