Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Happy Birthday Tracie!!! and Performance Reviews
2001-01-30 - 17:22:58

Happy Birthday to Tracie!
Happy Birthday to Bera!
Happy Birthday to the coolest sweetest chiccie in the universe, or at least in Charlotte, NC
(No offense anyone, I mean there are lots of cool people in Charlotte, but Bera is the coolest)
Happy Birthday to Tracie!!!!

Geez, I sure miss her. Damn this living 7 hours apart...
On to more news of the weird.... or Gen....

The dreaded performance reviews

So, here at UMUC we follow this Performance Development Proccess (PDP) each year. Basically instead of simple performance reviews each year, or twice a year, we get one a year that we have to update in the beginnning of the year, in the middle and at the end. In theory it is suppossed to aid us in getting the annual raises we deserve. Sadly, we've never seen any difference, we all at least get a minimal raise each year and COLA.

So what is so bad about PDP's? I thought they were good for the employee? -Yeah, I guess in theory they are, but who actually bothers to read these things, I'll never know. Oh, and did I mention that they have like 8 different sections to them, none of which make sense, and back when I was a new employee I had to take a mandatory class on filling one out because they are so complicated. It includes a gooby little table for Operational Objectives, where you need to lay out the unit's goals, then your own objectives and how they fit into it, and then at the end of the year, your results and rating the importance. They just totally suck. At least I don't have to write out an essay like Wayne has to do, but we did have to write our own personal Narrative. This of course is supposed to be written by the supervisor, so I got to talk about myself in third person. I included the ever popular "Jennifer works and plays well with others, but occasionally runs with scissors." My boss will probably make me take that out. sigh, no fun. Then we have to meet with our boss and chit chat about the PDP and see if we agree on what is said. "You should rate this as more important..." "I know you think you are totally awesome and god's gift to this department, but maybe you could work a little on your humility..." ugghhh.

And of course I am deprived of my Wayne, the main source of entertainment around here, since he is presenting something for Lotus at a conference in San Diego. It's sunny there, and he's getting cherry treatment; nice hotel, room service, limo to and from airport. Next time he needs to weasel a way for me to travel with him. I told him I make an excellent Vanna White if he's presenting or I could be his secretary. This year so far he's been to Orlando and San Diego, and it's only January!! Meanwhile it was rainy this morning and chilly. grr...

So, my Boss's wife just had her baby last night. I'll keep the last name withheld to protect the innocent, but Jim and Jennifer had Isabella Grace at 9:57pm on 1/29/2001. Mother and daughter are doing well, and he'll get over the shock in about 18 years. :) So we spent a little chunk of time today surfing the web for cute baby presents and flowers to give and stuff. We are collecting money from our coworkers and will put that towards everything and any left over money will go to a six pack, a bottle of Ibuprofen and a night out at Jillian's playing games and drinking. Yeah, we like this plan. And now we will be experts when my other co-worker, Rob's wife, has their third kid around Gulf Wars, March 10th. Sheesh, tough first of the year.

Oh well, so I'm slacking again today. I've done the critical part of the job, and even did that damn PDP for my meeting on Thursday. I helped with the ever important gift selection. I helped Tara track down some roses addresses. I've chatted with Wayne on IM from merfing sunny CA. It's been a good day. But the cafeteria upstairs has raised their prices, which is kinda hurting the wallet. 2.50 for breakfast was much easier than 3.75. Sheesh.

So, just to toot my sweetie's horn -clean minds only- I actually got home a little early last night so I did laundry and read in my cheesy romance novel most of the night, breaking to watch B5 on the Scifi channel. Alan in his infinite coolness made me steak for dinner, perfectly cooked, with lots of pepper and steamed brocoli and brought it to me while I sat my butt in the comfy chair for an hour straight. He's so cool. He even did the dishes when we were done eating. Now who could ask for better than that?
Alan is the greatest!!!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next