Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

A Viking I will go...
2001-01-29 - 12:25:11

Gen quote of the day: "I'm a Viking today. I feel the need to conquer something."

So, the Lochmere event was pretty cool. I finished my apron in time, but my Super-Gen cape ended up looking like a blankie some kid had tied around their neck to pretend superhero, so I nixed that part of the outfit. I don't know if it is because I chose silk noile to make it out of, or if it needed embroidery to jazz it up, or what. Maybe the pale blue made it look too baby blue to be good. Will have to think more on that... But I dig viking clothing. It was so comfy during the day, it rocked. Way more comfy than being cinched up in Italian Ren or Elizabethan. Cause I don't care how well it is fitted, it's still constricting. And I don't really like to wear high heels with any regularity. I thought about doing some embroidery on the apron, but a) the Viking Answer Lady says the aprons were mostly unadorned, the embroidery was on the outer tunic between the underdress and the apron, and b) the idea of embroidering that wool gives me hives just thinking of all the hand work needed. As I it was, I used nyplex surgical gloves to do the hem on it. :)

The chess game was a scream! We had Viking pitted against Elizabethans, it was so funny. The Lochmere Baron and Baroness were the Eliz. King and Queen, and the Baron and Baroness of Highland Foorde were the Viking K&Q. The Rooks had cute little castle and palisade hats to wear to identify them. tee hee. The Eliz. Bishops were wearing red and Vels and I just looked like authentic Vikings, or something. White scarves were the Eliz. knights and squires to a Viking and a Welshman were the viking knights with swords. The Eliz. Pawns had plastic moriens (spanish looking helmets..) while the Viking Pawns had the silly horned helmets. It was all very silly. The Prince and Princess had advisors, but since Havorc actually knows how to play chess, his advisor was a dirty Elizabethan sabateur named "Otto von Tudor". The Elizabethans won, but mostly because Havorc is smart enough to let Mary Grace win. The pieces had fun taunting each other, and I think the crowd even had an enjoyable time watching. Hee hee hee...

Sadly the post-revel was held at Jerry and Rhonda's and they have cats, so we decided to bail out and hung out with Bob and Laura until it was time to go home and crash.

Sunday involved sleeping late, brunch at the Ram's Head Tavern in Savage Mills and Super Bowl party at Susan's. The Raven's won, whoohooo!! It was the second football game I've watched of the season. The other was Tech in the Gator Bowl. We had a hell of a Merffing* good time, yummy food and loud and obnoxious friends, the way I like them. I think poor Jess's dad is scarred though since he left before the second half. Most of the commercials were pretty lame though, except the Pepsi commercials, Bob Dole, Chess Boy, etc...

And yes, I confess that I did watch the Survivor season premier. I also watched most of the last time they did it. Sadly the time slot is Thursdays, from 8-9 which means that we'll have to leave immediately afterwards to go to Last Chance. Or I'll miss it. So far I haven't gotten into taping missed shows, that's what re-runs are for. Although Genie did say that she loves her Tivo. Tapes all her shows for her. Hmmmmm... I think I watch too much TV as is..
Hey Rigatoni! You lika more Cheese? I lika more cheese TOO!

Time to quit avoiding work and such. I hate mondays man. They are so lame. And I have to make handouts for my University classes; Mid class Ital Ren, MoAS class, and the Retainer 101. Oh dear. Maybe I'll only teach the training class next UofA. Make sure to register for classes if you are going!! Bugger Bugger Bugger Bugger Bugger!!!!

*BTW, merf is the new curse word to replace any explicative that can be expressed using the shift key and any of the number keys. Example, "Merffing-ay!", or "What the Merf was that Merffing merf pass?!?!" This is to protect sweet Tonwen's innocent and sensitive ears. :) And it is kinda fun to say.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next