Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Working 9 to 5
2001-01-26 - 14:52:22

Ahhhh......

120mg of Allegra, 50mg of Benadryl and some creamy spoo later, and I'm finally almost human. Oh and I just wrote this out way more eloquently, but my computer decided to crash when I paused to do some real work, so I lost it all. It's been one of those days.

Now everyone knows that Fridays are the days to do the littlest work possible to squeak by and then go out to happy hour or something afterwards. This is not turning out to be one of those fridays, sadly.

To start with, the brain children in facilities management, and I use the term loosely, decided that they would work on getting another power line into the building. They couldn't wait for the weekend when we aren't here, nope today, the day before classes begin. So we were kinda jazzed that we would come in and have no power so get to go home and telecommute which means watching bad daytime tv. I was prepared. No, instead the entire rest of the IT department is affected, but not us. It'll actually be a full 5 day week. Oh joy.

Instead of yanking our power, our phones are all f'd up. All incoming calls sound like shit on our end, full of static and echoy on the caller's end. This is very pleasant, let me tell you. So when someone calls from offsite, we have to yell into the phone: The phones are not working, please send us an e-mail or instant message us your number and we'll call you! While this carries some sweetness to it, we have this weird spanish bitch who doesn't understand and keeps calling us back, like we could hear her the next time. Ah, me.

And to top it all off we have this nutcase of an instructor who can access our site fine using AOL, which is rather shocking considering how much AOL sucks, but can't access us using her new Comcast Cable modem only. And somehow she thinks this is our fault. Shaaaa... whatever. She needs to upgrade her browser to fix her corupted Java Plug-in. Why does it all have to be so complicated?

I seem to keep getting interrupted, so perhaps this is a sign. I am dreading hemming the wool apron tonight, maybe I need to get some rubber/latex gloves. I wonder how those work with sewing. I figure if surgeons can work in them, so could I right? I might have some gloves that come with a box of hair dye, but those are kinda cheesy. Oh well.

My Peeps better take it easy. Got a fun event planned on Sat. in Lochmere...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next