Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Those blessings that surprisingly enter our world...
2002-04-19 - 3:00 p.m.

Today is Clint's birthday.

I'm talking about my brother-in-law, Clint, not the fabulous Syr Christian also of Clint fame. My brother-in-law, Clint Black. No, not the country singer. Yes, the joke does get old. But the name gets you great tables at restaurants.

So, in honor of the day he was brought into this world, I will tell the world (or those few folks who lead sad enough lives that they read my diary for amusement purposes) what a fantastic person Clint is.

Clint is my brother, more so than just a binlaw. He's the kind father of my two nieces. He's a father, bread winner, gamer, writer, friend and brother. He's the older brother I never had until my sister had the fortune to meet him, and the wisdom to marry him. Clint is a kind, generous, funny, creative, hard-working, gentle man. He's serious when he has to be, and funny the rest of the time. He's a good father to my girls (I call my nieces my girls, since they are), even when his back bothers him. He takes care of the family dog, Victor. Clint's a baby-holding, dog-walking, toddler-jungle-gym-being, food-buying, house-cleaning, computer-game-playing, one hell of a guy.

Did I mention I really like him?

Here are some things I have learned from Clint:

No one said it would be easy to provide for a family, but no one can quantify the rewards either.

Embrace your inner child as often as your children.

Grown-ups get to play with toys too.

Don't look the gift-horse in the mouth, give it a hug instead.

There are many different types and grades of leather, and the highest is crocodile.

The best time to buy furniture in Hickory, NC is March and Sept. at the Drexel Heritage pre-furniture market sales.

Bring a truck to those sales, or rent one on site.

Be proud at earning those few gray hairs, they make you look distinguished.

Love your family unconditionally, but take needed breaks from them as well.

That's my brother, Clint. :)


Onto the rest of my life. My dress was supposed to be ready today. I called yesterday and they said May 9th. Argh. That is 15 weeks, not 12! bastards! Hopefully it will be in before then, but they can't guarantee that it will be in before then. grumble, grumble... I know it needs alterations in the shoulders, hopefully none for the hem. I also hope I'm not too fat for it. That would suck monumentously. I made a tentative appointment to get measured for the alterations on May 3rd before flying out to Crown, hoping that it might be in by then. I hope, I hope.

My new TV obsessions are on BBC America. Ground Force and Changing Rooms. I think part of the draw to these shows is the accents. I mean, how sexy are real british and scottish accents? I'll tell you, very! Also the shows are only a half hour long. For some reason I feel like I have wasted less of my life when I only watch a half hour show, even if it is two of them back to back. You don't get as many real decorating and gardening tips, and yet, there is also less staged drama with pissy designers and such. On Changing Rooms, folks aren't afraid to say that they don't like something. Maybe the brutal honestly is refreshing. As far as Ground Force, well the music is perfect mix of circus themed music, the crew seems to have a lot of fun on each show, and the outcomes are always breathtaking, even if not something I would have chosen to do myself. I don't even garden and I love Ground Force. And they are on BBC America when I get home at 7pm every day. Yay! If you have digital cable or some other way to watch Ground Force, make a point to do so. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

Is it time to go home yet? I need to swing by the chiro, get groceries and watch Ground Force!

Of course, Murphy's Law being what it is, I filled up Scarlett's tank yesterday after work, and decide to go for the carwash. Why the hell not, she could use it. So it's not perfect, but for the energy I expended (pushing the extra buttons on the gas pump display and driving her thru it) it was worth it. Of course she was mostly shiney and happy, and this morning I come out to find a trickle of bird shit on her right front quarter pannel. Damn birds can spot a clean car a mile away. I'm ready for the garage now. :)

The lilac bush is in bloom this year. After a harsh and incorrect pruning, and several years of no blossoms, the lilac has finally bounced back and produced several lovely blossoms to help highlight the back yard a bit more. I think I do want to put one on the hill at the new house, conditions permitting.

Tomorrow is Night on Board, or the event affectionately known as NOB. Should be fun, I plan to relax, sit on my ever spreading ass and enjoy the day. We are going high speed, low drag, staying to feast with friends, and then home to sleep in our own beds. Mainly because I'm on call and should be able to check email in the morning and evening on sat. I just can't decide if I should attempt to wear Elizabethan that I don't fit in, or Italian ren that's not quite right. Nothing is quite right, I need to focus on actually finishing projects for a change. I'm too Kiki, and easily distracted by the next shiney thing I want to make to bother with properly finishing the ones I get to the wearable stage. Inspired to do more cool costumes, but no time or energy right now, and besides, all my fabric is in storage. Perhaps once new sewing room is properly set up, all will be well again.

okay, I'm done, I swear...

Happy Birthday again Clint!!! You rock!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next